Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Engine run in stand #2833052
10/15/20 01:25 PM
10/15/20 01:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
J
JERICOGTX Offline OP
master
JERICOGTX  Offline OP
master
J

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
Anyone here ever built there own engine run in stand? Would be nice to run an engine to test for leaks, or break in a cam before wasting dyno time. post pictures if you have done this.

Thanks.


69 GTX 68 Road Runner
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: JERICOGTX] #2833064
10/15/20 02:15 PM
10/15/20 02:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,910
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Offline
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,910
Marion, South Carolina [><]
Yep, built one years ago out of old scrap laying in the dirt by the barn, lol. It's crude as he11, but works great and has had a bunch of different engines on it.
Uses an old cast iron 4 speed bellhousing and flywheel I had laying around. Standard motor mounts.

440-18.jpg

CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440 w/ Indy SRs
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed...Dad's ride
'71 Demon 340 resto project
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
'16 Grand Caravan SXT...baby hauler
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: an8sec70cuda] #2833076
10/15/20 02:53 PM
10/15/20 02:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 942
Addison,IL
OUTLAWSSAA Offline
super stock
OUTLAWSSAA  Offline
super stock

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 942
Addison,IL
Made out off some chanel that was laying around. Definitely over kill.[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]

Re: Engine run in stand [Re: an8sec70cuda] #2833092
10/15/20 03:51 PM
10/15/20 03:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,062
Western NC
440Jim Offline
I Live Here
440Jim  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,062
Western NC
Originally Posted by an8sec70cuda
Uses an old cast iron 4 speed bellhousing and flywheel I had laying around. Standard motor mounts.

CHIP,
Do you have a picture of how you supported the rear of the bellhousing?

Re: Engine run in stand [Re: OUTLAWSSAA] #2833094
10/15/20 03:53 PM
10/15/20 03:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,062
Western NC
440Jim Offline
I Live Here
440Jim  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,062
Western NC
Outlaw,
What guts do you have in the trans?
Do you have trans fluid in it?

Re: Engine run in stand [Re: JERICOGTX] #2833099
10/15/20 04:10 PM
10/15/20 04:10 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 342
montana
BANDIT Offline
enthusiast
BANDIT  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 342
montana
Built one 10 years ago, been used dozens of times. You will like having one.

520D3351-8AD8-450F-8C37-F473B39B442E.jpeg

64 Dodge Coronet 440. In progress
1998. Dodge Avenger. 8.50@162. 4900 DA
250” Neil and Parks Slip Joint. 7.36@183.
4600 DA
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: BANDIT] #2833100
10/15/20 04:13 PM
10/15/20 04:13 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 342
montana
BANDIT Offline
enthusiast
BANDIT  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 342
montana
Rear shot.

0A0876D6-3190-48CF-9822-7182BA679193.jpeg

64 Dodge Coronet 440. In progress
1998. Dodge Avenger. 8.50@162. 4900 DA
250” Neil and Parks Slip Joint. 7.36@183.
4600 DA
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: JERICOGTX] #2833122
10/15/20 06:05 PM
10/15/20 06:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,920
Tulsa, Oklahoma
340Cuda Offline
master
340Cuda  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,920
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Originally Posted by JERICOGTX
Anyone here ever built there own engine run in stand? Would be nice to run an engine to test for leaks, or break in a cam before wasting dyno time. post pictures if you have done this.

Thanks.

I have always wanted one and even bought a bell housing and flywheel as a start.

However when I heard Total Seal say that a new engine should be run without a load as little as possible with new rings, it cooled my enthusiasm.

Re: Engine run in stand [Re: 340Cuda] #2833153
10/15/20 07:44 PM
10/15/20 07:44 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,312
PA.
pittsburghracer Offline
"Little"John
pittsburghracer  Offline
"Little"John

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,312
PA.


I have one 80% finished. If you lived closer I would sell you mine. Mine is set up to use a Chevy flywheel from a powerglide to Mopar Kit and a starter adapter I bought from a Moparts member that made and sold them

F91670C3-17F1-453E-9F1B-9AFE54667B05.jpeg

1970 Duster
Edelbrock headed 408
6.143@110.85 mph
9.73@135.05 mph shifting at 6700 RPM
422 Indy headed small block
5.982@112.56 mph
9.42@138.27

Livin and lovin life one day at a time




Re: Engine run in stand [Re: 340Cuda] #2833185
10/15/20 08:55 PM
10/15/20 08:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 35,914
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 35,914
Bend,OR USA
Originally Posted by 340Cuda
Originally Posted by JERICOGTX
Anyone here ever built there own engine run in stand? Would be nice to run an engine to test for leaks, or break in a cam before wasting dyno time. post pictures if you have done this.

Thanks.

I have always wanted one and even bought a bell housing and flywheel as a start.

However when I heard Total Seal say that a new engine should be run without a load as little as possible with new rings, it cooled my enthusiasm.

I've heard just the opposite about breaking in a new motor and ring seating and proper ring seal.
I've seen more new engines use oil for awhile that where broken in the car for 20 to 45 minutes with no load than I've seen and owned motors broken in on a engine dyno or out on the road broken in under driven loads breaking in the cam up scope


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: an8sec70cuda] #2833203
10/15/20 09:37 PM
10/15/20 09:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
J
JERICOGTX Offline OP
master
JERICOGTX  Offline OP
master
J

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
Here is what I have so far. Got some tubing drops from work. I found the transmission mounting locations for GM, Ford, and Mopar 4 speeds, so any bellhousing will fit. The front motor mounts are removable, and I’ll make different ones that I think will get used. Need to figure out a battery mount location, and what to do for fuel yet.

110EE87B-B6D9-43C5-B64F-86EF3BEDEE27.jpeg0BA2C0A1-592A-4FA5-ADC6-DB077AB1C305.jpeg390BC748-39BB-43C2-A800-26E229F816C2.jpeg

69 GTX 68 Road Runner
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: JERICOGTX] #2833265
10/16/20 05:09 AM
10/16/20 05:09 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,210
United Socialist States of Ame...
T
tboomer Offline
Too Many Posts
tboomer  Offline
Too Many Posts
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,210
United Socialist States of Ame...
It's a good start Jeff! wave


"It's the end of the world as we know it"
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: JERICOGTX] #2833310
10/16/20 08:05 AM
10/16/20 08:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 342
montana
BANDIT Offline
enthusiast
BANDIT  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 342
montana
You might rethink your radiator mount, especially if you ever haul the thing around. Mine moved around enough to cause radiator damage to one of the tanks. I have since switched to the cradle stock type setup. My fuel cell, pump, and battery are below the radiator and a little forward. With gauges and ignition above them, it makes it somewhat compact. You have a good start there. Jim.

66663575-3E9B-46D7-AD58-06D72B278845.jpeg

64 Dodge Coronet 440. In progress
1998. Dodge Avenger. 8.50@162. 4900 DA
250” Neil and Parks Slip Joint. 7.36@183.
4600 DA
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: tboomer] #2833316
10/16/20 08:10 AM
10/16/20 08:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,312
PA.
pittsburghracer Offline
"Little"John
pittsburghracer  Offline
"Little"John

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,312
PA.
Originally Posted by tboomer
It's a good start Jeff! wave



Heck yaa. You will be making noise in no time


1970 Duster
Edelbrock headed 408
6.143@110.85 mph
9.73@135.05 mph shifting at 6700 RPM
422 Indy headed small block
5.982@112.56 mph
9.42@138.27

Livin and lovin life one day at a time




Re: Engine run in stand [Re: BANDIT] #2833318
10/16/20 08:16 AM
10/16/20 08:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,855
Tulsa OK
Bad340fish Offline
master
Bad340fish  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,855
Tulsa OK
If this will be used in the same space you store you car I would just make a long fuel line and utilize the fuel system from your car.


68 Barracuda Formula S 340
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: Bad340fish] #2833323
10/16/20 08:35 AM
10/16/20 08:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
J
JERICOGTX Offline OP
master
JERICOGTX  Offline OP
master
J

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
Originally Posted by Bad340fish
If this will be used in the same space you store you car I would just make a long fuel line and utilize the fuel system from your car.


I want it to be a self contained unit, so any of my friends locally can use it. HEMI Joel has a complete set of gauges for me, and another friend is donating an older electric fuel pump he doesn’t need. I’m thinking of an aluminum 2 gallon cell, as they are cheap on eBay. I have an old Holley regulator in the trailer, so I think I just need to find a dirt cheap MSD 6A, and a coil.


69 GTX 68 Road Runner
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: JERICOGTX] #2833350
10/16/20 09:21 AM
10/16/20 09:21 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,062
Western NC
440Jim Offline
I Live Here
440Jim  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,062
Western NC
Jeff,
What distance between the headers did you use? (yellow arrows)
What car do those headers fit?

EngineRunStand_JERICO_GTX-rear2.jpg

1993 Daytona, 1973 Cuda 440, 2009 Challenger 5.7 Hemi, 2015 RAM 1500 5.7 Hemi 8-speed auto
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: 440Jim] #2833592
10/16/20 05:08 PM
10/16/20 05:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
J
JERICOGTX Offline OP
master
JERICOGTX  Offline OP
master
J

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,735
MN
Originally Posted by 440Jim
Jeff,
What distance between the headers did you use? (yellow arrows)
What car do those headers fit?


16 inches. The headers are my old Hooker 5209’s that fit my Road Runner. They are just hanging from the block. If I bolted them to a cylinder head, they would be tipped out at the bottom, quite a bit more.


69 GTX 68 Road Runner
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: Cab_Burge] #2833755
10/17/20 07:15 AM
10/17/20 07:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,855
Tulsa OK
Bad340fish Offline
master
Bad340fish  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,855
Tulsa OK
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Originally Posted by 340Cuda
Originally Posted by JERICOGTX
Anyone here ever built there own engine run in stand? Would be nice to run an engine to test for leaks, or break in a cam before wasting dyno time. post pictures if you have done this.

Thanks.

I have always wanted one and even bought a bell housing and flywheel as a start.

However when I heard Total Seal say that a new engine should be run without a load as little as possible with new rings, it cooled my enthusiasm.

I've heard just the opposite about breaking in a new motor and ring seating and proper ring seal.
I've seen more new engines use oil for awhile that where broken in the car for 20 to 45 minutes with no load than I've seen and owned motors broken in on a engine dyno or out on the road broken in under driven loads breaking in the cam up scope


That might apply to older style ring packs maybe? The new thin and light stuff may be different. Total seal probably has a decent idea of what they are talking about? grin


68 Barracuda Formula S 340
Re: Engine run in stand [Re: Cab_Burge] #2833778
10/17/20 08:30 AM
10/17/20 08:30 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,048
fredericksburg,va
C
cudaman1969 Offline
master
cudaman1969  Offline
master
C

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,048
fredericksburg,va
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Originally Posted by 340Cuda
Originally Posted by JERICOGTX
Anyone here ever built there own engine run in stand? Would be nice to run an engine to test for leaks, or break in a cam before wasting dyno time. post pictures if you have done this.

Thanks.

I have always wanted one and even bought a bell housing and flywheel as a start.

However when I heard Total Seal say that a new engine should be run without a load as little as possible with new rings, it cooled my enthusiasm.

I've heard just the opposite about breaking in a new motor and ring seating and proper ring seal.
I've seen more new engines use oil for awhile that where broken in the car for 20 to 45 minutes with no load than I've seen and owned motors broken in on a engine dyno or out on the road broken in under driven loads breaking in the cam up scope

I read an article from a guy who built and raced cycles. He built two identical engines. One went through a normal break in period then raced for a season. The other raced right out the box full blast. The second always ran faster and at end of season after tear down looked like new, first one had carboned up rings-crankcase and weird wear in the cylinders. He figured the immediate pressure seated the rings better. The old addage on running it hard off the showroom floor proved true.

Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1