Topic Options
#2434168 - 01/13/18 08:40 PM Re-wiring your car questions
fourgearsavoy Offline


Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 9166
Loc: Rittman Ohio
I have been considering re-wiring my Savoy with an updated universal system with fresh wires. Like a lot of our cars the wires and connectors are getting very brittle and and are really not up to the job with added accessories and higher output alternators. I was considering just adding a 5 circuit sub system for my added components or should I just change over the entire system with fresh wires to all components. I have an MSD ignition so that system is very basic and I also have upgraded to a Denso internal regulator alt. so that should also make easier. I just need a basic system to run the lights,wipers,fuel pump,and horn.
Thanks in advance thumbs

Gus beer


Attachments
23231224_1750435168331817_8297307229037431265_n.jpg




Edited by fourgearsavoy (01/13/18 08:42 PM)
_________________________
64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60

Top
#2434170 - 01/13/18 08:41 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
GoodysGotaCuda Offline
5.7L Hemi, 6spd

Registered: 11/23/04
Posts: 24179
Loc: Texas
Start over with as much new as you can get.
_________________________
1972 Barracuda - 5.7L Hemi, T56 Magnum 6spd - Build page -> https://www.facebook.com/GoodysGotaHemi<-
1976 Dodge Warlock - "Her Truck" - 360/727 2wd
2016 BMW X1, 2016 Subaru WRX

Top
#2434188 - 01/13/18 09:22 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
topside Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 11932
Loc: So Near, Yet So Far
For the money, it's hard to beat American Autowire. I did a total rewire, 12V conversion, & alternator on a guy's '53 Ford F250 and it was pretty clear & easy with their dedicated kit, and I'd expect their universal stuff to be likewise.

Top
#2434190 - 01/13/18 09:25 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: topside]
fourgearsavoy Offline


Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 9166
Loc: Rittman Ohio
Yeah I was looking at their products and the Mopar specific system was $999.00 eek

I think I may go with the universal system.

Gus beer
_________________________
64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60

Top
#2434195 - 01/13/18 09:32 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
IMGTX Offline


Registered: 04/20/03
Posts: 10789
Loc: Looking for a way out of Middl...
I agree as much new as possible.

I suggest start with a repop harness and integrate the added systems.

If you are going to do the whole kit-n-kaboodle yourself it can be a painstaking mess.
If you do it all yourself a trick is to take a plywood sheet and nail/tie your old harness to it stretched out like you are tanning a deerskin. Mark the wires and where the connectors are. Then mock up the new harness on the board and leave at least 6" extra wire beyond the pigtail location for extra measure. Leave the connectors off at first and tie the harness with Plastic ties, I use the removable ones.
Test fit the harness and integrate any new components into the harness at this time, make sure you mount the MSD, etc to the car so you are sure it fits to the harness and car.

If it's a simple harness you can finish the ends while it's in the car. If not make sure the connectors fit the harness, mark and trim as necessary. Remove and install the ends.

SOLDER ALL CONNECTIONS That you can. Don't skimp on this step.
_________________________


If YOU don't talk to your cat about catnip someone else will!

If you are not on the edge you are taking up too much space.

Top
#2434223 - 01/13/18 10:40 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: IMGTX]
GoodysGotaCuda Offline
5.7L Hemi, 6spd

Registered: 11/23/04
Posts: 24179
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By IMGTX
If you are going to do the whole kit-n-kaboodle yourself it can be a painstaking mess.


I will say that is very true. It took me nearly 3 months worth of time to finish wiring my car. Granite I did a from-scratch fuse box and have EFI...but it can be quite extensive.

Originally Posted By IMGTX

SOLDER ALL CONNECTIONS That you can. Don't skimp on this step.


...this too. Every connection on my car is crimped and soldered.
_________________________
1972 Barracuda - 5.7L Hemi, T56 Magnum 6spd - Build page -> https://www.facebook.com/GoodysGotaHemi<-
1976 Dodge Warlock - "Her Truck" - 360/727 2wd
2016 BMW X1, 2016 Subaru WRX

Top
#2434245 - 01/13/18 11:33 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
moparpollack Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 11/13/05
Posts: 14478
Loc: 85086
Originally Posted By fourgearsavoy
Yeah I was looking at their products and the Mopar specific system was $999.00 eek

I think I may go with the universal system.

Gus beer


Start from scratch with Rapidroberts help. When I wired my 39 Plymouth pick up he broke it down and made the job easier. Learned a lot and it wasn't that hard.
_________________________
67 Coronet, 68 Roadrunner, 69 Super Bee, 69 Coronet 500 convertible, 70 Roadrunner Post, 79 D150 360, and a severe case of Mopar a,d,d

Top
#2434375 - 01/14/18 10:12 AM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: moparpollack]
fourgearsavoy Offline


Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 9166
Loc: Rittman Ohio
Well I've been doing wiring for over 30 years and I used to wire complete utility trucks with man lifts,cable pullers,generators etc. so I know how to wire a vehicle.I should probably re-phrase my question to "what kit do you guys like to use"
There are at least a hundred differn't universal kits out there made in a dozen countries. All I need is just a basic deal with enough circuits to be legal for road use.
Just asking what have you used and what were the problems you had with various kits so I know what works best.

Thanks for all the information so far.

Gus beer
_________________________
64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60

Top
#2434378 - 01/14/18 10:18 AM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: moparpollack]
moparx Offline
master

Registered: 09/03/03
Posts: 8515
Loc: north of coder
gus, a simple, basic system, can sometimes be better going one wire at a time. that is, if you are not in a huge hurry, and want to learn a lot about the circuits present. what ever you decide, and i can't emphasize this enough, use QUALITY wire, terminals, and crimping tools ! solder if you wish, but don't OVER DO it on the solder, making it a brittle joint. there is a reason the OEM's crimp 95% of all connections. marine shrink tube with the adhesive is all i recommend when shrink tube is required on a termination or a splice. keep as many factory style plugs as you can when plugging in components, and protect your harness with proper routing and grommets, then the outer sheaving can be what ever you choose, as there are multiple choices available. i, however, dislike the late model plastic split loom cover that comes in a bunch of colors ! but that's just me. take a little time and you can do a GREAT job, it's not that hard ! just don't do anything like this mess i had to fix one time ! eek
beer


Attachments
IM000847.JPG

IM000849.JPG

IM000846.JPG



Top
#2434410 - 01/14/18 11:08 AM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
135sohc Offline
mopar

Registered: 02/19/12
Posts: 525
Loc: SoMd, USA
TE connectivity splice bands

https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e...25CT-ND/2233549

How often do you see solder used on OEM applications ?...

Top
#2434483 - 01/14/18 01:35 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
Centerline Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 04/28/03
Posts: 226
Loc: Texas Hill Country
I've used "Ron Frances", "It's a Snap", and "Keep it Clean" wiring kits and they all were pretty easy. That said, I would NEVER use a "Ron Frances" kit again simply because they use a proprietary solid state fuse panel that only they can fix.

I'm currently wiring my '64 Polara with the "Keep it Clean" kit. This is big block 4 speed car that has a Vintage Air kit installed. This kit is one of their "bare bones kits" that is basically just the fuse panel and associated wiring and does not include the wiring for most of the car. It was cheap (under $100 on sale) and if you purchase the rest of the wire and connectors yourself its still a good deal. However, there is no way I would recommend this kit for a beginner.

The best of the three in my opinion was the "It's a Snap" 18 circuit kit. I used this one on a '53 Chebby pickup I built that was early hemi powered and had a Hot Rod Air AC unit installed. I also used it on my 32 Ford 3 window coupe. This kit is pretty complete, has good directions, and is pretty much a piece of cake to install.

Hope this helps.


Edited by Centerline (01/14/18 01:39 PM)
_________________________
Centerline
64 Dodge Polara Big Block.....Stock-ish
99 Corvette Z-06

Top
#2434485 - 01/14/18 01:38 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
TJP Offline
master

Registered: 01/24/03
Posts: 8525
Loc: Omaha Ne
Originally Posted By fourgearsavoy
Well I've been doing wiring for over 30 years and I used to wire complete utility trucks with man lifts,cable pullers,generators etc. so I know how to wire a vehicle.I should probably re-phrase my question to "what kit do you guys like to use"
There are at least a hundred differn't universal kits out there made in a dozen countries. All I need is just a basic deal with enough circuits to be legal for road use.
Just asking what have you used and what were the problems you had with various kits so I know what works best.

Thanks for all the information so far.

Gus beer


American Autowire, their Hiway series kits sound like exactly what you need. twocents
_________________________
www.tandmautomotive-omaha.com

Top
#2434629 - 01/14/18 06:45 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
65rbdodge Offline


Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 3876
Loc: n.e. pa.
I put a complete universal wiring harness in my 47 Desoto w/318/833. I got the one made by speedway motors it was the cheapest I found. It was the fewest circuit harness they made and I didn’t use all of them. The plug for the steering column was for a GM column. I had to cut it off and figure out how to make it work with the 88 Dakota column I put in the car. It wasn’t that hard to do and it was my first time wiring a complete car. Speedway harness’s are worth checking out IMO.

Top
#2434829 - 01/15/18 12:37 AM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
Adobedude Offline
super stock

Registered: 05/07/06
Posts: 1168
Loc: New Mexico
Don't solder, use the proper sized quality terminals and crimpers.
A bad solder joint, which is wàaaaay to easy to do will be brittal, ask guys who work on airplanes.
_________________________
2001 Dodge Dakota
408 All Motor
11.27 @ 117.83 mph
6600' DA

Top
#2434855 - 01/15/18 02:17 AM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: Adobedude]
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win

Registered: 08/23/03
Posts: 30552
Loc: Bend,OR USA
Originally Posted By Adobedude
Don't solder,, ask guys who work on airplanes.

I owned and worked on my own airplane for 15 years under the direct supervision of a A&P and Inspector authorized designated engineer.
The main reason they don't use solder connections on factory airplanes is weight and wire gauge size as well as the airplane flying in all kinds of weather with massive air temp changes and vibration work scope
I worked for the local phone company for over 33 yrs, we solder every permanent connections in the equipment offices and on all the inter connection wiring on most of the wires. If you solder and heat shrink the connections properly and make sure they aren't moving around a bunch you will be fine, as I'm sure Gus already knows that thumbs twocents
_________________________
Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)

Top
#2435174 - 01/15/18 04:58 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
None2Slow Offline
mopar

Registered: 02/27/07
Posts: 592
Loc: Nampa, ID
A friend of mine wired his 53 Chevy Bel Air with American autowire kit. Took him about a week and he has almost no experience with wiring cars other then wiring up a stereo. I have the American autowire highway series for my 63 Valiant convertible that I'm going to install eventually. Need to replace my floors first. Since I have to weld and all and don't want to burn the wires.

Top
#2435187 - 01/15/18 05:25 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: fourgearsavoy]
cudatom Offline
mopar

Registered: 02/24/03
Posts: 677
Loc: Massillon, Ohio
I've used two different kits. My Cuda has an ARC kit. Super simple and I reàlly like their set up. Plenty of wire, nice directions as well as options.

The second was a Painless kit that went in my wagon. What a POS.
I would never use them again. Wire was cheap, poor connections and their suggested wiring diagram was crap.

Top
#2435279 - 01/15/18 07:58 PM Re: Re-wiring your car questions [Re: cudatom]
fourgearsavoy Offline


Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 9166
Loc: Rittman Ohio
Well I'm leaning to the American Hiway series but if the Keep It Clean site was better I might use them but I will check them out by phone.
Thanks again for all the responses thumbs BTW I always crimp,solder,shrink ALL connections unless they are shock mounted.

Gus beer
_________________________
64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60

Top

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,253 Registered Members
32 Forums
188,915 Topics
2,203,087 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
95RON as a standand octane at the pump?
by mopar dave
04/23/18 10:42 AM
For those who can't get enough ... new Ramcharger
by KISSAlien
04/23/18 10:21 AM
8 years under a cover "Forever Young" Diego is back!
by Diego_Ted
04/23/18 09:51 AM
Need help identifying Mopar performance part number
by WHITEDART
04/23/18 09:45 AM