master
RoadRunnerJD  Offline
master

Warrenton, VA
Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Nice but you know you can't post a picture without some nitpicking! Sorry to say it but what's with the black bowl vent lever and rod? I have several original spares and they are not black.

John/Scott,been doing these things for 30 yrs,saw a lot with and with out a bowl vent arm but never saw a black one.Maybe just never had one

Sorry Scott, I agree with Bill. You do great work and are an asset. There's no question. I'm not trying to bash your work. I undoubtedly have not seen 95% of the existing A12 original bowl vents. It just really confuses the issue when I see my first black hardware on an A12 carb and someone of your distinction says it can be considered OE? I've been doing this for 40 years and have never seen a 69 1/2 with a black one...especially the actuating arm attached to the throttle shaft? IMO, even if you had one with a black original, it would not tend to raise any questions if you restored it yellow gold rather than black. I wouldn't want a black one just to avoid the nitpicking.

Re: 6 pak base gaskets..HOLLEY..& YEAR ONE [Re: RoadRunnerJD] #504604
10/23/09 10:50 PM
10/23/09 10:50 PM
Spokane Washington
ScottSmith_Harms Offline
Mr Wizzard
ScottSmith_Harms  Offline
Mr Wizzard

Spokane Washington
I am not attempting to debate any of you guys, I respect you all, and that's not just BS. What I am posting is in relation to my personal experience in messing with these cars (my very first restoration was an A12 Bee in 1987). I am not prettnding to know everything so please don't get the wrong impression, I'm just trying to add to the knowedge base and do restorations to the best of my ability using information I've learned along the way.