Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Cam and torque converter question #3088825
10/24/22 12:02 PM
10/24/22 12:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,259
MI
6PAX Offline OP
master
6PAX  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,259
MI
The cam I installed in my engine has the rpm range listed at 3600-7600. What stall speed toque converter would be best suited for this cam? Would a factory torque converter from an h.p. 383/440 be O.K. or do I need to go aftermarket and get a higher stall converter? Rear gears are 3.73.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3088829
10/24/22 12:18 PM
10/24/22 12:18 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 126
W. Pa
U
usp4u Offline
member
usp4u  Offline
member
U

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 126
W. Pa
You need to talk to a convertor builder more than a bunch of guys on the internet.

Last edited by usp4u; 10/24/22 12:18 PM.
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: usp4u] #3088834
10/24/22 12:31 PM
10/24/22 12:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,929
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Offline
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,929
Marion, South Carolina [><]
Originally Posted by usp4u
You need to talk to a convertor builder more than a bunch of guys on the internet.

iagree And they're gonna need a whole lot more info that what you gave us to determine what you need.


CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed
'71 Demon 340
'73 Chrysler New Yorker
'90 Chevy 454SS Silverado
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3088837
10/24/22 12:40 PM
10/24/22 12:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,709
A shed in England
Tig Offline
master
Tig  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,709
A shed in England
Originally Posted by 6PAX
The cam I installed in my engine has the rpm range listed at 3600-7600. What stall speed toque converter would be best suited for this cam? Would a factory torque converter from an h.p. 383/440 be O.K. or do I need to go aftermarket and get a higher stall converter? Rear gears are 3.73.


There are too many variables here to give a definitive answer but I don't think a stock converter will cut it. Stall RPM usually works best when equal to peak torque RPM, give this info to your converter supplier (if you have it). Custom converters are worth the money if you want to get the best out of your entire combination.
For info, I've recently fitted 3.73 gears in place of 4:10's. Stall has increased 900 rpm (5200 - 6100) on my 8" ATi treemaster and slip at the finish has gone from 9% to 16%. I didn't think it would be so sensitive to rear ratio, unless I've broke it ! shruggy but I will be needing a converter for N20 any way whistling


'74 Challenger..9.46 and 145.9 so far. 4023lb!!!# N/A, Marsh performance 655ci, Indy Maxx, T/R, Indy 600-13 X's, Street legal, pump gas, full interior, Cal-Tracs, mufflers, 3:73's and real 10.5 radials.
9.51 @142.4 with our old mule 580 wedge
RHD '68 Barracuda Fastback 323ci street/strip. Best ET 13.88 @ 99.03
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: Tig] #3088861
10/24/22 01:46 PM
10/24/22 01:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,062
New York
polyspheric Offline
master
polyspheric  Offline
master

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,062
New York
Right, with a given converter, stall increases with either a lower number axle ratio or 1st gear (viz. 3.73:1 vs. 4.10:1, or 1.82:1 PG vs. 2.45:1 727).
Don't shop price, get the best one you can afford, it affects performance every time you use the car.


Boffin Emeritus
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3088941
10/24/22 07:23 PM
10/24/22 07:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,675
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
gregsdart Online content
master
gregsdart  Online Content
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,675
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
Originally Posted by 6PAX
The cam I installed in my engine has the rpm range listed at 3600-7600. What stall speed toque converter would be best suited for this cam? Would a factory torque converter from an h.p. 383/440 be O.K. or do I need to go aftermarket and get a higher stall converter? Rear gears are 3.73.

A cam listed with those rpm hi and low points is quite radical, requiring a high stall of some sort. What you need depends on end usage. Race only? Probably a high 5,000 to over 6000 stall. Street driving part of the equation? Tighter. But most likely 4,000 minimum for decent results. There are so many variables, only a good converter builder will know what to recomend. I am guessing the minimum price for a quality
Converter will be in the range of $750 and up, and most likely more. DO NOT go for a bargain priced unit! Get a part time gig. Sell the cat, what ever it takes but buy QUALITY.


8.77 153 mph best, 3055 lbs 528 indy 440-1 alky
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: gregsdart] #3088948
10/24/22 07:51 PM
10/24/22 07:51 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 126
W. Pa
U
usp4u Offline
member
usp4u  Offline
member
U

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 126
W. Pa
Originally Posted by gregsdart
Originally Posted by 6PAX
The cam I installed in my engine has the rpm range listed at 3600-7600. What stall speed toque converter would be best suited for this cam? Would a factory torque converter from an h.p. 383/440 be O.K. or do I need to go aftermarket and get a higher stall converter? Rear gears are 3.73.

A cam listed with those rpm hi and low points is quite radical, requiring a high stall of some sort. What you need depends on end usage. Race only? Probably a high 5,000 to over 6000 stall. Street driving part of the equation? Tighter. But most likely 4,000 minimum for decent results. There are so many variables, only a good converter builder will know what to recomend. I am guessing the minimum price for a quality
Converter will be in the range of $750 and up, and most likely more. DO NOT go for a bargain priced unit! Get a part time gig. Sell the cat, what ever it takes but buy QUALITY.



OP didn't offer enough info to help him.....you know that.

He needs to call a converter builder and answer the questions they are going to ask. Then he will get in the ballpark.
Asking here barely gets you in parking lot of the ball park.

Speaking to converter builders has taught me more than OP will ever learn from "us" guessing at his situation and goals.

OP, there are 3 people you never lie to....your wife, your doctor, and your converter guy. And not in that order.

Last edited by usp4u; 10/24/22 07:55 PM.
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3088972
10/24/22 09:41 PM
10/24/22 09:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,882
CA
C
crackedback Online content
top fuel
crackedback  Online Content
top fuel
C

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,882
CA
Originally Posted by 6PAX
Would a factory torque converter from an h.p. 383/440 be O.K.


This is an absolute NO!!!!

My favorite customers that never understood why their stuff never ran hard was the following. Spend 5-10K on an engine, big camshaft, making good power and backing it up with a stock or $250 converter. Of course it doesn't leave hard or seems doggy when you stomp on it. LOL


Last edited by crackedback; 10/24/22 09:43 PM.
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: crackedback] #3089062
10/25/22 08:59 AM
10/25/22 08:59 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,259
MI
6PAX Offline OP
master
6PAX  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,259
MI
O.K., here's the deal on my situation. When I wanted to have my engine built, the guy who was building it for me basically laid out the plan for the build. I took his advice but now it appears I shouldn't have as it turns out he was more of a strip oriented car kind of guy and I wanted an engine more suited for the street. He was a member of the family via in-laws and has since passed away before the engine was completed so I am trying to finish the engine and trans. myself so I can finally install them in the car. I believe for the most part (correct me if I am wrong) the engine would be O.K. for the street had it not been for this camshaft/lifter set-up he had me get which is this. https://www.howardscams.com/mechani...-chrysler-383-440-3600-7600-howards-cams The engine is a 400 block with the 440 Source 470 stroker kit. 10.8 compression with Eddy RPM heads, Comp Cams Magnum roller rockers, Eddy Performer intake, Holley 775 or 875 cfm carb (I have both) and TTI 1 3/4" headers. I really don't want a high stall converter to drive around on the street. So, I think rather than investing in a high stall converter that would be suited for the cam I would rather just replace the cam with something that is more suited for a street car that will allow me to use a 2400-2800 stall converter (which I have). I would appreciate recommendations on what a good choice for a cam would be that would work with the engine specs I listed and the torque converter I have along with the 3.73 gear ratio.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3089064
10/25/22 09:26 AM
10/25/22 09:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,211
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
I Win
AndyF  Offline
I Win
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,211
Oregon
Yeah you'll be happier in the long run with a smaller cam on the street and then a regular "high performance" converter. For your engine I'd recommend something like the old Mopar Performance 528 solid. That cam works great in a 470 high performance street engine. It is big enough to make good top end power, but it will also drive really nice with a typical high stall street converter. It isn't a race cam so don't buy a race converter, just stick with high performance street parts. Call Porter Racing Heads and tell them what you're trying to do and they'll get you the correct camshaft for your application.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: AndyF] #3089102
10/25/22 12:06 PM
10/25/22 12:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,548
Oakland, MI
D
dizuster Offline
master
dizuster  Offline
master
D

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,548
Oakland, MI
I think what it comes down to, is you need to be honest with what you want this car to be and how often it'll really get raced.

If it's going to be used for the majority as a street car, I'm 100% on board with Andy that picking a smaller cam will make it start/idle/drive/cruise a LOT better.

If it's going to be used for the majority as a race car, then leave the big cam in it, and put a loose converter in it so it runs good at the track.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: dizuster] #3089107
10/25/22 12:24 PM
10/25/22 12:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,882
CA
C
crackedback Online content
top fuel
crackedback  Online Content
top fuel
C

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,882
CA
Smaller cam is what you need based on what you state. That 260 at .050 cam on a tight LSA isn't going to be street friendly at all.

The 528 is a great cam. I run one in a 340. Something in the 230-240 at .050 range with a 108-110 lsa would be a lot easier to deal with on the street. Still have a choppy idle with better manners with a solid idle tune up on it.

Still spend a couple bucks on a converter. IMO, most important piece of the puzzle on an auto car. Converter tech has come a long way from the days of a high stall being akin to stepping on a marshmellow when rolling into throttle.

Last edited by crackedback; 10/25/22 12:26 PM.
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3089120
10/25/22 01:08 PM
10/25/22 01:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,823
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,823
Bend,OR USA
What year and model car?
That cam is very similar to the solid roller cam I ran in my pump gas 505 C.I. Duster with a six pack on low compression ratio (9.25 to 1 with iron heads) 400 stroker motor except your lobe centers are closer, mine was ground on a 108 LSA and installed at 106 ATDC on the intake lobes.
The tighter LSA will increase low end power but not have as much power above 5500 RPM or maybe a little higher or lower depending on where you install the cam, straight up, advanced or retarded tsk grin
Do you have power brakes? If so, change the cam, if not I would try it devil


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: Cab_Burge] #3089140
10/25/22 02:35 PM
10/25/22 02:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,259
MI
6PAX Offline OP
master
6PAX  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,259
MI
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
What year and model car?
That cam is very similar to the solid roller cam I ran in my pump gas 505 C.I. Duster with a six pack on low compression ratio (9.25 to 1 with iron heads) 400 stroker motor except your lobe centers are closer, mine was ground on a 108 LSA and installed at 106 ATDC on the intake lobes.
The tighter LSA will increase low end power but not have as much power above 5500 RPM or maybe a little higher or lower depending on where you install the cam, straight up, advanced or retarded tsk grin
Do you have power brakes? If so, change the cam, if not I would try it devil


!969 Dart. No power brakes. I just really don't want to run a high stall converter. I have a friend who had one in his car (stroked 360 Duster) and he let me drive it. Don't care for the high stall converter. I'm not going racing at the track so that is not a factor.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3089142
10/25/22 02:47 PM
10/25/22 02:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,211
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
I Win
AndyF  Offline
I Win
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,211
Oregon
Something small like the Mopar 528 cam and a "Hemi" converter should take care of it if you aren't going racing. For street driving you just want the converter loose enough that it doesn't push you when you are at the drive thru lane or a stop light. If you have a small performance cam like the 528 you'll have a slightly raised idle speed so you'll need something a little looser than a stock converter. Idle speed might be 900 rpm with the 528 so you'll need a converter that lets it idle okay but you still want it "locked up" when you are cruising down the freeway at 2000 rpm.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: AndyF] #3089160
10/25/22 04:52 PM
10/25/22 04:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,844
usa
L
lewtot184 Offline
master
lewtot184  Offline
master
L

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,844
usa
i have a 440 in a '65 coronet that is strictly a street car. i use a 238@.050"/.510 lift solid cam, 110lsa, with a 1966 street hemi converter; no mods to the converter, and a 3.23 gear. this drives very well, has a good ignition curve, but the converter is a little tight for the cam. i don't know if you can buy that .528 cam anymore but somebody ought to be able to grind something close. if you want something to drive nice without the loose converter headaches i'd look at something in the 230-235@.050" range and maybe a 112lsa. a bunch of valve overlap at idle and right off idle torque lose is what messes you up. my cam has about 75 degrees overlap and that's really too much for the converter. i don't want a looser converter because the 3.23 gear works good for in town and moderate road use. loose converters and tall gears are not a good mix.

Last edited by lewtot184; 10/25/22 06:14 PM.
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: lewtot184] #3089169
10/25/22 05:48 PM
10/25/22 05:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,748
Michigan
T
Transman Offline
master
Transman  Offline
master
T

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,748
Michigan
Originally Posted by lewtot184
i have a 440 in a '65 coronet that is strictly a street car. i use a 238@.050"/.510 lift solid cam, 110lsa, with a 1966 street hemi converter; no mods to the converter, and a 3.23 gear. this drives very well, has a good ignition curve, but the converter is a little tight for the cam. i don't know if you can buy that .528 cam anymore but somebody ought to be able to grind something close. if you want something to drive nice without the loose converter headaches i'd look at something in the 230-235@.050" range and maybe a 112lsa. a bunch of valve overlap at idle and right off idle is what messes you up. my cam has about 75 degrees overlap and that's really too much for the converter. i don't want a looser converter because the 3.23 gear works good for in town and moderate road use. loose converters and tall gears are not a good mix.


What size tire you running ?
What’s your engine speed at lets say 50 or 55 mph?

Trying to compare to my ride. I have a 10” TA 17508. Way too loose so was wondering how much difference between these two converters.
I have a SH converter to try.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: Transman] #3089173
10/25/22 06:12 PM
10/25/22 06:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,844
usa
L
lewtot184 Offline
master
lewtot184  Offline
master
L

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,844
usa
Originally Posted by Transman
Originally Posted by lewtot184
i have a 440 in a '65 coronet that is strictly a street car. i use a 238@.050"/.510 lift solid cam, 110lsa, with a 1966 street hemi converter; no mods to the converter, and a 3.23 gear. this drives very well, has a good ignition curve, but the converter is a little tight for the cam. i don't know if you can buy that .528 cam anymore but somebody ought to be able to grind something close. if you want something to drive nice without the loose converter headaches i'd look at something in the 230-235@.050" range and maybe a 112lsa. a bunch of valve overlap at idle and right off idle is what messes you up. my cam has about 75 degrees overlap and that's really too much for the converter. i don't want a looser converter because the 3.23 gear works good for in town and moderate road use. loose converters and tall gears are not a good mix.


What size tire you running ?
What’s your engine speed at lets say 50 or 55 mph?

Trying to compare to my ride. I have a 10” TA 17508. Way too loose so was wondering how much difference between these two converters.
I have a SH converter to try.
28" tire. a little over 25mph per 1000rpm. this converter i use will not flash or stall according to the service manual, but i'm using a lot more cam than any factory engine which does reduce off idle torque. i've got everything tuned fairly good so even if cam/converter aren't a perfect match the car does drive very well.

Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: 6PAX] #3089180
10/25/22 06:45 PM
10/25/22 06:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,029
Melbourne , Australia
LA360 Offline
master
LA360  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,029
Melbourne , Australia
Originally Posted by 6PAX
O.K., here's the deal on my situation. When I wanted to have my engine built, the guy who was building it for me basically laid out the plan for the build. I took his advice but now it appears I shouldn't have as it turns out he was more of a strip oriented car kind of guy and I wanted an engine more suited for the street. He was a member of the family via in-laws and has since passed away before the engine was completed so I am trying to finish the engine and trans. myself so I can finally install them in the car. I believe for the most part (correct me if I am wrong) the engine would be O.K. for the street had it not been for this camshaft/lifter set-up he had me get which is this. https://www.howardscams.com/mechani...-chrysler-383-440-3600-7600-howards-cams The engine is a 400 block with the 440 Source 470 stroker kit. 10.8 compression with Eddy RPM heads, Comp Cams Magnum roller rockers, Eddy Performer intake, Holley 775 or 875 cfm carb (I have both) and TTI 1 3/4" headers. I really don't want a high stall converter to drive around on the street. So, I think rather than investing in a high stall converter that would be suited for the cam I would rather just replace the cam with something that is more suited for a street car that will allow me to use a 2400-2800 stall converter (which I have). I would appreciate recommendations on what a good choice for a cam would be that would work with the engine specs I listed and the torque converter I have along with the 3.73 gear ratio.


Put a smaller camshaft in it, a hydraulic flat tappet like a Comp Cams Thumper grind, or something that that. You can sell off your new Howards camshaft to offset some of the cost. If you're not sure what to get. speak with Dwayne Porter as AndyF suggested


Alan Jones
Re: Cam and torque converter question [Re: AndyF] #3089200
10/25/22 08:01 PM
10/25/22 08:01 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,643
Md.
C
carnut68 Offline
master
carnut68  Offline
master
C

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,643
Md.
Originally Posted by AndyF
Yeah you'll be happier in the long run with a smaller cam on the street and then a regular "high performance" converter. For your engine I'd recommend something like the old Mopar Performance 528 solid. That cam works great in a 470 high performance street engine. It is big enough to make good top end power, but it will also drive really nice with a typical high stall street converter. It isn't a race cam so don't buy a race converter, just stick with high performance street parts. Call Porter Racing Heads and tell them what you're trying to do and they'll get you the correct camshaft for your application.
That cam is 385 through Mancini.

Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1