Sherman Texas
T
The Shocker Offline OP
mopar
The Shocker  Offline OP
mopar
T

Sherman Texas
I realise i have alot of questions lately ,but here is another.What dictates how much valve lash one solid cam will have over another ?The Iskenderian solid flat tappit cam i just installed in my stroker SB recomends lash at .028 /.028 hot.I noticed on Isky's site that the cam right above and below this grind call for much less lash.Its like .014 -.016 .What is this based on ? The same Isky lifters are used on all 3 .The only other SBM solid flat tappit they have with this much lash is their nastiest max effort race cam ,but it is like 296 duration at 50.Mine is only 254 at 50. Do i have to run this much lash ? I hate to give up lift and duration with a foot of lash .I have done sum research on this subject ,but cant really find out why ...

Last edited by The Shocker; 12/14/12 11:02 PM.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykcsXMV3vfg My Dart ,and im just getting started...
Re: What determines lash on solid cams ??? [Re: The Shocker] #1351547
12/14/12 11:14 PM
12/14/12 11:14 PM
Rittman Ohio
fourgearsavoy Offline
I Live Here
fourgearsavoy  Offline
I Live Here

Rittman Ohio
I think it's personal preference myself I like .006 intake and .010 exhaust cold and add .010 when hot with aluminum heads and iron block been doing it that way for over 30 years
Gus

7503741-007.JPG (62 downloads)

64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60
Re: What determines lash on solid cams ??? [Re: The Shocker] #1351548
12/14/12 11:50 PM
12/14/12 11:50 PM
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
I Win
AndyF  Offline
I Win
A

Oregon
Lash requirement comes from the ramp design selected by the cam designer. You have to follow the recommendation of the cam mfg or else you run the risk of ruining the camshaft.