12/12/12 11:42 AM
Az
Crizila Offline
master
Crizila  Offline
master

Az
Quote:

I have been using a water oil cooler for the last 8 years. It's mounted in front of the radiator. Never a problem. With a Milodon HV oil pump my oil pressure is almost instant. I have a short filled block. Without a cooler my oil temp would hit 320.

Interesting. I have a 3/4 filled block and I have never seen my oil temp over 215 ( on the street or round racing ). I'm sure road racing or oval track racing would be a different story - even towing. I was all set to put a cooler on. Glad I put an oil temp gauge on first. My oil manufacturer recomended running at 212 to 250 temps to boil off any moisture in the oil.

Fastest 300
Re: Engine Oil Cooler [Re: VincentVega] #1345620
12/12/12 12:48 PM
12/12/12 12:48 PM
Florida
S
scratchnfotraction Offline
I Live Here
scratchnfotraction  Offline
I Live Here
S

Florida
Quote:

Welp, when I'm wrong, I'm wrong. And that's often!

The E58 on the Diplomat body does use the oil "check valve", it's just mounted on the cooler instead of at the back of the block like on the B body. I must have been really tired yesterday to miss that!

I stand corrected as well. I just looked and confirmed that mine indeed has that check valve at the cooler.

Re: Engine Oil Cooler [Re: scratchnfotraction] #1345621
12/12/12 01:28 PM
12/12/12 01:28 PM
Northeast
V
VincentVega Offline
super stock
VincentVega  Offline
super stock
V

Northeast
I've parted out cop diplomats, and I can recall looking at the oil cooler and thinking "what the hell is this thing on it?"

It's funny how sometimes it takes years to piece things together. now I know.

Looking for 1975 through 1978 B body 4 door sedan sheet metal or parts cars - monaco, fury, coronet. Please let me know
Re: Engine Oil Cooler [Re: VincentVega] #1345622
12/12/12 01:49 PM
12/12/12 01:49 PM
Az
Crizila Offline
master
Crizila  Offline
master

Az
Quote: