08/04/09 01:27 PM
08/04/09 01:27 PM
North Dakota
Azzkikrcuda Offline OP
top fuel
Azzkikrcuda  Offline OP
top fuel

North Dakota
I am changing from drums to factory 70 disc brakes. Do I need a different proportioning valve or the adjustable one you put in the rear line? I have a disc brake master cylinder. thanks

Re: 70 Challenger drum to disk swap-need new prop valve [Re: Azzkikrcuda] #428513
08/04/09 08:46 PM
08/04/09 08:46 PM
Santa Cruz, California
L
Lefty Offline
master
Lefty  Offline
master
L

Santa Cruz, California
You need a disc/drum combination valve -

http://www.mpbrakes.com/technical-support/reference-valves.cfm

Reference/FAQs: Valves

What does a proportioning valve do?
A proportioning valve is used in the rear to decrease the rate of pressure rise to the drums relative to the pedal force as weight is shifted to the front during braking. This prevents the rear from locking up under hard braking conditions.

What are the symptoms of a bad proportioning valve?
If your prop valve has gone bad your rear wheels will lock up easily, especially on wet surfaces.

What does a metering valve do?
A metering valve or "hold off valve" is used in the disc portion of a disc/drum system to hold off the application of the front discs slightly allowing the slower reacting rears to catch up. This provides rear stability on wet surfaces and reduces excessive pad wear.

What are the symptoms of a bad metering valve?
Your car will nose dive and the front pads will wear too fast.

What does a residual valve do?
There are two different uses for residual valves. The 10 lb valve is used to hold a residual pressure to the drum brakes to keep the shoes out close to the drums giving a higher firmer pedal. The 2 lb valve is used in the disc when the master cylinder is lower than the calipers to prevent back siphoning of the fluid from the master.

What are the symptoms of a bad residual valve?
The brakes will be very spongy and you will need to pump the pedal to get good brakes.