ILLINOIS
V
volaredon Offline OP
top fuel
volaredon  Offline OP
top fuel
V

ILLINOIS
I typically don't buy the lower line/grade from anybody.
I've been an auto mechanic since the late 80s, having done more suspension/brakes than anything else over the years.
But with buyouts and this BS "global economy" crap, I've lost touch with "who's good".
I have never had much luck with Monroe or KYB, Bilstein has been pretty good if I'm spending someone else's money, on my own stuff I've actually had the best luck with Gabriel.
Gabriel used to be the most popular, as in whether you bought sears road handler, car quest
"Bruiser", or private label Firestone they were all Gabriel. Monroe's were always "available" but never seemed to last.
You were guaranteed to have to replace them again down the road.
Currently we have to buy from Napa for anything that I buy for at work and even their "best" seem to be good for only about a year. Napa shocks are currently mostly Monroe.
How about rancho? I know they are made by the same parent company as Monroe.
Nobody in town sells Gabriel anymore, but rock auto still has em. As well as all the other brands.
Anyone ever hear of PRT or Sensen? I sure haven't.

Currently looking for replacements for my 12 ram 1500 2wd/reg cab long bed. At 120k the originals are definitely shot. And factory Mopar is priced out of the market.
I'll be shopping rock auto since they're priced at 1/2 of what I can get local for same- brand except for the Mopar ones which I ain't buying anyway.
It's probably gonna be between the Gabriel ultra or the rancho.

Related question what's the hubbub about 'monotube" vs "twin tube" designs?

Re: Who's the go to these days for shocks? [Re: volaredon] #3156075
07/01/23 10:40 PM
07/01/23 10:40 PM
ILLINOIS
V
volaredon Offline OP
top fuel
volaredon  Offline OP
top fuel
V

ILLINOIS
Nobody, huh?

Re: Who's the go to these days for shocks? [Re: volaredon] #3156128
07/02/23 08:42 AM
07/02/23 08:42 AM
rust belt
M
Moparite Offline