Wendy, I'm home.
dstryr Offline OP
master
dstryr  Offline OP
master

Wendy, I'm home.
Originally Posted by fourgearsavoy
Originally Posted by Dcuda69
I suspect it'll be fine...those lower arms are made of tin foil so likely the weak spot. I'd be more worried about getting the bolts out in one piece. Live in the rust belt?

This iagree The only issue you may have is the bolt that goes through the bushings. Yes you will need to pry and wiggle the new parts into place and even "sharpen" a point on the bolts to drive them back home. i have used a ratchet strap to the shipping anchors to pull suspension parts into place.
Shoot me a PM if you need any other help on this car as I am a master Toyota tech with 35 years experience.
Gus beer
I'll get into it on Saturday. Thank you both for the insight. beer

dstryr, since 1986.
Re: How about a Lexus question? [Re: dstryr] #3098601
12/01/22 10:05 AM
12/01/22 10:05 AM
Tulsa OK
Bad340fish Offline
master
Bad340fish  Offline
master

Tulsa OK
Originally Posted by dstryr
Originally Posted by not_a_charger
Assuming the spindle isn't damaged, you shouldn't have to do anything to it or to the hub. confused The radius rod, the strut, and the 2 lower control arms determine the position of the spindle. If nothing else is bent other than the front lower control arm, what are you concerned with regarding the spindle not being able to be moved to it's proper position?

It is part # 24 that is bent. Once removed, I'm just asking if the spindle/hub should somewhat freely come back into line or if I might have to rig something to help pull the wheel/hub straight so that the new arm will line up on the bolt holes. Pretty straight forward question I thought.

I am going to guess it will return close enough that the new arm will go back into place with the same level of difficulty of any other suspension part. It might require some wrestling but I bet it goes together OK.

68 Barracuda Formula S 340