Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: R3 Racing] #3058908
07/13/22 01:09 PM
07/13/22 01:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
gregsdart Offline OP
master
gregsdart  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
Originally Posted by R3 Racing
We just installed an A and A Torqueflite in our Road Runner. There is quite a difference between my home built torqueflite with a Turbo Action transbrake and the transmission from A and A. The A and A has all the best internals. The A and A is more positive in all gears. The transbrake is more positive when it engages and most importantly, the car is quicker with no other changes. If you haven't talked to Rick Allison, you should. He knows what he is doing. As an aside, my son and I went and saw Rick's facility. It is one of the most impressive shops I have ever been in.

Rick,
My trans was built by Chuck Lofgren, who has been building Torqueflites for racers for 40 years? He put all the needed upgrades in this trans, for my power level at the time. The next step only requires tougher shafts.


8.77 153 mph best, 3055 lbs 528 indy 440-1 alky
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: gregsdart] #3059379
07/15/22 10:42 AM
07/15/22 10:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,843
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Offline
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,843
Marion, South Carolina [><]
My 727 still has stock shafts in it. Haven't broken one yet, but it wouldn't surprise me if it broke on my next pass.
3850 lb car, 575" hemi on nitrous...Mid 5s at 127 mph in the 1/8. Should be somewhere in the 8.6-8.7 range in the 1/4, I just haven't run at a 1/4 mile track in a while.

big 2.jpg

CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440 w/ Indy SRs
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed
'71 Demon 340
'73 Chrysler New Yorker
'90 Chevy 454SS Silverado
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: an8sec70cuda] #3059384
07/15/22 10:57 AM
07/15/22 10:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
gregsdart Offline OP
master
gregsdart  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
Thanks Shawn. That tells me a lot. How do you launch and what tires are you running?


8.77 153 mph best, 3055 lbs 528 indy 440-1 alky
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: gregsdart] #3059389
07/15/22 11:33 AM
07/15/22 11:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,843
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Offline
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,843
Marion, South Carolina [><]
Originally Posted by gregsdart
Thanks Shawn. That tells me a lot. How do you launch and what tires are you running?

It was just Shawn's event, not me, lol. That's why his name is on the photo.
3k off the transbrake,. 295-65 drag radials.

Chip


CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440 w/ Indy SRs
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed
'71 Demon 340
'73 Chrysler New Yorker
'90 Chevy 454SS Silverado
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: an8sec70cuda] #3059429
07/15/22 01:26 PM
07/15/22 01:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Portage,michigan
B
B3422W5 Offline
I Live Here
B3422W5  Offline
I Live Here
B

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Portage,michigan
I broke an output shaft at 700 horse at 3350 pounds.
Some guys get lucky, some don’t.
The fact is, the stock parts are 50 years old, they can break with pretty much any decent power. No way of knowing.
To the OP, seems like square peg round hole. Sensible thing is to go to a glide that can handle the power, and make the car way more consistent.
It’s never gonna be a world record holder, being consistent, not breaking and having fun seems logical to me


69 Dart GTS A4 Silver All steel, flat factory hood, 3350 race weight
418 BPE factory replacement headed stroker
Best so far, 10.68 at 124.48
1.44 best 60 foot.
6.76 at 101.63 best 1 /8

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: B3422W5] #3059438
07/15/22 02:05 PM
07/15/22 02:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 971
Addison,IL
OUTLAWSSAA Offline
super stock
OUTLAWSSAA  Offline
super stock

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 971
Addison,IL
Rick Allison recommends anything 900hp or over to have hardened shafts.

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: gregsdart] #3059447
07/15/22 02:31 PM
07/15/22 02:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,336
Moved to N.E. Tennessee
GomangoCuda Offline
master
GomangoCuda  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,336
Moved to N.E. Tennessee
Originally Posted by gregsdart
I have been considering a move to a 580 cu in 572-13 motor with 15/1 compression on methanol. Expected power would be over 1050 hp at 7400 rpm. Torque will be 800 + somewhere. Can stock input and output shafts handle this kind of power? Launch will be about 4800 rpm or less, with a converter that will flash to 6300 behind this beast. Tires are 10.5 x 33 hoosiers so shock from launch shouldn't be too bad. Tell me your experiences of stock shaft failures so i can figure out whether i want to try this.

twocentsCall Rossler and get a glide.

Last edited by GomangoCuda; 07/15/22 02:32 PM.

In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: GomangoCuda] #3059450
07/15/22 02:35 PM
07/15/22 02:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,843
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Offline
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,843
Marion, South Carolina [><]
Don't get me wrong, if I had the budget, there'd be a powerglide in my car. I'm not recommending stock shafts either...I know mine is a timebomb. Just stating what I've done. twocents


CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440 w/ Indy SRs
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed
'71 Demon 340
'73 Chrysler New Yorker
'90 Chevy 454SS Silverado
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: an8sec70cuda] #3059533
07/15/22 08:22 PM
07/15/22 08:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
gregsdart Offline OP
master
gregsdart  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
Originally Posted by an8sec70cuda
Don't get me wrong, if I had the budget, there'd be a powerglide in my car. I'm not recommending stock shafts either...I know mine is a timebomb. Just stating what I've done. twocents

I assumed what you stated. I know i am skating close to thin ice, but i have backed myself into an empty race budget with the new motor and total rebuild of my trans . Originally i had planned to stay at 550 cubes, but a great deal on a longer arm crank came my way and i couldn't resist. Soooooooo, as mentioned earlier i plan on leaving soft and will upgrade to the input shaft and hub. Hopefully it will live a while. But i just remembered i have the GM bolt pattern, so that is one little item out of the way for a changeover to glide, ahould i need to go that way.


8.77 153 mph best, 3055 lbs 528 indy 440-1 alky
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: gregsdart] #3059589
07/16/22 02:32 AM
07/16/22 02:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
T
T-bar Offline
member
T-bar  Offline
member
T

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
I still run a 727 but the only thing not billet was the output shaft but it's back at my trans builder getting new gears and a billet output shaft and the car is 3800 lbs on 275 radials. I'm similar to you as in I've backed myself into a corner with this box with the amount of money that's been spent on it. If I had to do it again it would definitely be a GM style trans, similar money ( bit dearer), but more ratios to choose, SFI cases and especially over here more parts availability.

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: gregsdart] #3059611
07/16/22 06:41 AM
07/16/22 06:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,657
A shed in England
Tig Online content
master
Tig  Online Content
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,657
A shed in England
Just for info, the H/D O/P shafts don't have the worm drive machined in for the speedometer. Just something to take into consideration if you have a car that does any street duty. twocents


'74 Challenger..9.46 and 145.9 so far. 4023lb!!!# N/A, Marsh performance 655ci, Indy Maxx, T/R, Indy 600-13 X's, Street legal, pump gas, full interior, Cal-Tracs, mufflers, 3:73's and real 10.5 radials.
9.51 @142.4 with our old mule 580 wedge
RHD '68 Barracuda Fastback 323ci street/strip. Best ET 13.88 @ 99.03
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: B3422W5] #3065336
08/04/22 08:39 PM
08/04/22 08:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
gregsdart Offline OP
master
gregsdart  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,612
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
New hi strength input and hub showed up today! I am going to stay with the stock output shaft for now.

PXL_20220804_012634087~2.jpg

8.77 153 mph best, 3055 lbs 528 indy 440-1 alky
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: gregsdart] #3066067
08/07/22 02:27 PM
08/07/22 02:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 284
Northport, al.
T
tvt59 Offline
enthusiast
tvt59  Offline
enthusiast
T

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 284
Northport, al.
My 904 is doing pretty well at 6.08 and 112 in the 8th mile. 1.3 at 60'

20220410_150032.jpg

Nothing worth anything comes easy. It is always harder to do the right thing. My Grandfather
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: tvt59] #3066070
08/07/22 02:32 PM
08/07/22 02:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,707
Las Vegas
Al_Alguire Offline
I Live Here
Al_Alguire  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,707
Las Vegas
Mine is a 540" B1 deal fwiw. It can run well into the 8's at 3600lbs and has never had any issues so far. As for consistency it seems prett good, nothing related to the trans anyway there. More the ability to keep the fnont end down has been the issue for me as we try to put the power in it. Still pulling fair amount of timing at the hit to tame that down, but slowing trying to ad it back. Hopefully new front shocks will be the ticket.

Need new shocks to calm the front rise and moreso the bounce when she lands. Then maybe I can put more power in it and one day maybe try something bigger than the single 4150 carb smile This was a low 9 teen pass here in Vegas problem is I was dialed 9.09 frown



"I am not ashamed to confess I am ignorant of what I do not know."

"It's never wrong to do the right thing"
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: Al_Alguire] #3066163
08/08/22 07:57 AM
08/08/22 07:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 41
Connellsville
7
71Demon528 Offline
member
71Demon528  Offline
member
7

Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 41
Connellsville
Wow, that wheelstand did get out of hand quick haha. One beautiful car. Love the 64-65 Plymouths.

Something I did not see posted much on here when it comes to taming down the launch while still running a torqueflite is a 1st gear change. Rick Allison sells a 2.28 helical cut rear planetary while maintaining the same second gear ratio of 1.45. Rick also sells a 2.28/1.45/1:1 straight cut planetary set but they are pricey. I have the 2.28/1.45/1:1 straight cut planetary in my trans but I have a backup torqueflite which I intend to one day put in the 2.28 helical cut rear planetary.

The 2.28 helical cut rear planetary is way cheaper than switching to a glide and it does help keep the launch more controllable. I have considered the glide as well but its very expensive to switch over. Especially since I have two very expensive torqueflites from A&A transmissions along with 2 torque converters from turbo action and I have a very expensive Precision Performance Products shifter.

I think the 2.28 first gear compared to a 2.45 first gear is a good thing for cars that leave hard with higher HP. Granite, I do not have the 572+ cubic inch and 572-13 heads, but my car has always left very hard even when it was footbrake car. When I switched to the transbrake I put the 2.28 trans in and it was very consistent 60' and much more controllable.

1.18 60' best
1.21-1.22 60' regularly
2835lbs
528 Wedge
440-1
71 Dodge Demon

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: 71Demon528] #3066222
08/08/22 11:57 AM
08/08/22 11:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,877
fredericksburg,va
C
cudaman1969 Offline
master
cudaman1969  Offline
master
C

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,877
fredericksburg,va
Pull a 727 apart then lay the stuff out on a table, now do the PG the same way. Compare the parts for differences. imo it’s the aftermarket cases where most of the strength is found. One can buy better shafts, drums, gears, sprag but you still have that flexible case.

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: 71Demon528] #3066228
08/08/22 12:13 PM
08/08/22 12:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,707
Las Vegas
Al_Alguire Offline
I Live Here
Al_Alguire  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,707
Las Vegas
There are a number of gearsets available for a Proflite. Mine is and F1 2.24/1.48. Choices go from first gears of 1.78 all the way to 3.20, why they are so popular in Comp, SS and Stock. We have two transmissions for the Vette one is an F8, 2.18/1.48 the other is and an E8 2.25/1.51. The parts to run this stuff are not cheap for sure and from my experience they work great for higher HP stuff but when the torque numbers start going up they can become a problem. Some friends with a TS car tried for about 6 months to make one work for their combo with one of the big name shops in the end they just couldn't take the torque and they went to a TH400 based unit


"I am not ashamed to confess I am ignorant of what I do not know."

"It's never wrong to do the right thing"
Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: Al_Alguire] #3066236
08/08/22 01:00 PM
08/08/22 01:00 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,498
Shelby Twp. Mi
HardcoreB Offline
master
HardcoreB  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,498
Shelby Twp. Mi
I wonder if a 727/Proflite can handle near 1300HP? How would it perform against a 2.10 first T400? What would the difference be in cost? Assuming you'd bellhousing the 727 for a larger converter?

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: Al_Alguire] #3066291
08/08/22 04:02 PM
08/08/22 04:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 41
Connellsville
7
71Demon528 Offline
member
71Demon528  Offline
member
7

Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 41
Connellsville
I am certainly not familiar with the proflite but I have heard of guys going to T400 for many reasons. Guys I race with, including myself, have said if we ever had to switch from 727 it would be to a T400 mainly cause the availability of parts, first gear ratios, and SFI case.

Re: Torqueflite strength? [Re: HardcoreB] #3066369
08/08/22 08:08 PM
08/08/22 08:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 479
New Milford, CT
S
SCDaytona Offline
mopar
SCDaytona  Offline
mopar
S

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 479
New Milford, CT
Lonnie Johnson runs a proflite in his comp car using an ex pro stock motor. Last when I spoke with him, he had 150 passes on it and was going to rebuild as needed soon. That motor has to be making over 1300 to maybe 1400 Hp.

Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1