07/04/22 03:38 PM
07/04/22 03:38 PM
Round Lake Beach, Illinoisy
Rhinodart Offline OP
Rhinotruck
Rhinodart  Offline OP
Rhinotruck

I know I am just an old mechanical designer who knows close to nothing about electricity but why can't an electric vehicle charge itself? Gen sets can charge batteries, which most are just diesel engines turning a generator that produces electricity, seems as simple to me as hooking a generator to the rotating mass that the electric motors run? Is it that there is just no profit in it? Discuss...

The funny thing about science is that if you change one miniscule parameter you change the entire outcome to the way you want it.

JB Rhinehart, Realist

A-Body's RULE!
Re: Why can't an electric vehicle charge itself? [Re: Rhinodart] #3055896
07/04/22 03:41 PM
07/04/22 03:41 PM
Hamtramck, PA
A
Alaskan_TA Offline
Fluffy Balladeer
Alaskan_TA  Offline
Fluffy Balladeer
A

Hamtramck, PA
Because.......

Burning coal in the car to power the generator to generate the electricity to recharge the batteries is an extra cost option.

Re: Why can't an electric vehicle charge itself? [Re: Rhinodart] #3055898
07/04/22 03:42 PM
07/04/22 03:42 PM
new berlin wisconsin
M
Mr T2U Offline
master
Mr T2U  Offline
master
M

new berlin wisconsin
to some aspect they do thru regenerative braking systems.
i have seen some videos posted on facebook they tow a completely dead tesla 1 mile it gave them a estimated 1 mile of driving charge.

from what i assume you are describing attaching a generator to the drive axles it would significantly reduce the driving distance due to drag from the generator.
i am no engineer but you are describing something like making a preputial motion machine that gets endless energy. they have been attempting to make one successfully for eternity.
i would assume it takes a bit more energy to make the electricity that the motor driven by the electricity.

Last edited by Mr T2U; 07/04/22 03:52 PM.

perception is 90% of reality