Warren, MI
71TA Offline OP
I Live Here
71TA  Offline OP
I Live Here

Warren, MI
Originally Posted by Dcuda69
Originally Posted by abodyjoe
before you spend a dollar buying that house have the septic inspected buy a top notch company.. one that will send cameras down there.. chances are at 20 years old its going to fail... can cost big money to fix.. 15 years ago it cost 11k to out in a new leach field at our place.. had the seller put that money in escrow for use to have it done..

Mine's 32+ years old....zero issues

Thats the next question I guess; how long DO they last? I'm hoping a LONG time.

Re: Septic tank on lake house questions [Re: 71TA] #2935813
06/22/21 09:12 PM
06/22/21 09:12 PM
Cincinnati, OH
6T6Cuda Offline
top fuel
6T6Cuda  Offline
top fuel

Cincinnati, OH
(I am no expert), but there are a few types of systems and you should figure out what type you have. The biggest difference is the aerobic and anaerobic (random article I have not read, but do some research: https://septictankpro.com/difference-between-aerobic-and-anaerobic-septic-systems/), they operate differently and have very different complexities and maintenance requirements.

I have a "jet" system with a stirrer and an air pump - both those require maintenance, electric and will need to be replaced at some point in time. But I don't have leach lines as the effluent runs into the flowing creak on my property. "they" say you can drink the water coming out, but not sure if i'd try...

Depending upon the age and design, they are supper simple just three tanks (around here) not much to go wrong as long as the tanks hold up - but the concrete ones can crack (usually roots or perhaps freezing), and the plastic ones have been known to "float up" although I have never seen or personally heard of it. but there is not much that "can go wrong" it is just a tank.