Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure #2539384
08/21/18 01:05 AM
08/21/18 01:05 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,000
Motown, Mi
P
PAULS_340 Offline OP
super stock
PAULS_340  Offline OP
super stock
P

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,000
Motown, Mi
Need to add electric water temp and oil pressure gauges. Is there a benefit to mechanical oil pressure over electric? Friend has NOS Mopar Performance set. I thought I was going to get electric oil pressure. What say you? Thanks.


Still looking for LM29H1B415501, '71 Demon 340
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539398
08/21/18 01:33 AM
08/21/18 01:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,177
So Near, Yet So Far
topside Offline
I Live Here
topside  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,177
So Near, Yet So Far
I prefer mechanical for both. I don't want a possibility of misinterpretation, just what's actually happening right now.
Only electric gauge in my racecar is a digital voltmeter, because it takes basically no power to operate.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539405
08/21/18 02:01 AM
08/21/18 02:01 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,696
Kirkland, Washington
Pacnorthcuda Offline
I Live Here
Pacnorthcuda  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,696
Kirkland, Washington
OK,
Mechanicals have always been thought of as more accurate, simpler in operation, and usually meant "full sweep" ---270 degrees vs about 120.

There are exceptions. As far as brands, AutoMeter makes great value-for-the-dollar stuff.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539407
08/21/18 02:20 AM
08/21/18 02:20 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,514
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts
AndyF  Offline
Too Many Posts
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,514
Oregon
I don't think there is a problem these days with electric gauges. A mechanical water temp gauge is really a hassle. A mechanical oil pressure gauge isn't as bad but you're still bringing hot oil into the passenger compartment. I still have a mechanical vacuum gauge and oil pressure gauge in my car but next time I redo the console I'll switch everything over to electrical.

In the current console I have a tach in the center and then oil pressure, vacuum, water temp and AFR in the corners.

DSC_2892 (Large).JPG
Last edited by AndyF; 08/21/18 02:23 AM.
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539431
08/21/18 05:06 AM
08/21/18 05:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,257
Western Md.
skicker Offline
Son of Doc Fiberglass
skicker  Offline
Son of Doc Fiberglass

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,257
Western Md.
Be sure to ground them back to the motor and not to the dash frame...
DAMHIK...
I can tell you for a fact that if you crank up the stereo it will peg the gauges... runaway


Loving all the tears... bawling

Sorry Doc...

We'll try again in 2 years...up

Edited...Looks like it will be 6 years...biggrin
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539453
08/21/18 08:55 AM
08/21/18 08:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
Oregon
E
earlymopar Offline
super stock
earlymopar  Offline
super stock
E

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
Oregon
The only problem I see with a mechanical water temp gauge is the size of the sending unit which requires a corresponding large hole in the firewall.

Mechanical oil pressure gauges do not bring hot oil into the car interior. In any I have had, the oil runs a couple of inches into the tube (still in the engine bay) and the rest of the tube is pressurized air which is what drives the gauge.

- EM

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: earlymopar] #2539473
08/21/18 10:48 AM
08/21/18 10:48 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,454
tennessee
P
pushbutton Offline
pro stock
pushbutton  Offline
pro stock
P

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,454
tennessee
Originally Posted By earlymopar
The only problem I see with a mechanical water temp gauge is the size of the sending unit which requires a corresponding large hole in the firewall.

Mechanical oil pressure gauges do not bring hot oil into the car interior. In any I have had, the oil runs a couple of inches into the tube (still in the engine bay) and the rest of the tube is pressurized air which is what drives the gauge.

- EM


Let the line break at the gauge and see what happens.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: Pacnorthcuda] #2539481
08/21/18 10:56 AM
08/21/18 10:56 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,795
up yours
Supercuda Offline
About to go away
Supercuda  Offline
About to go away

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,795
up yours
Originally Posted By Pacnorthcuda
OK,
Mechanicals have always been thought of as more accurate, simpler in operation, and usually meant "full sweep" ---270 degrees vs about 120.


About 20 years ago that was true. Not today


They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539498
08/21/18 11:33 AM
08/21/18 11:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,689
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Magnum Offline
master
Magnum  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,689
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
I understand ALL the advantages of mechanical. Had them in the past. We can all pull it the "it's been fine for me" but to bring pressurized oil in the interior is a poor idea.


69 Super Bee, 93 Mustang LX, 04 Allure Super
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: Magnum] #2539510
08/21/18 11:53 AM
08/21/18 11:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,380
USA, MI
MarkM Offline
Worthy
MarkM  Offline
Worthy

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,380
USA, MI
Originally Posted By Magnum
I understand ALL the advantages of mechanical. Had them in the past. We can all pull it the "it's been fine for me" but to bring pressurized oil in the interior is a poor idea.


Had a line break on me a long time ago. Didn't have any tools on me with the exception of Leatherman I kept on my belt. Ended up driving twenty minutes home with one hand under the dash pinching the line off with those pliers. Never did get the stains out of the carpet and had to replace it later on. Been electric Autometer gauges ever since.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539563
08/21/18 01:46 PM
08/21/18 01:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,514
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts
AndyF  Offline
Too Many Posts
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,514
Oregon
I use #3 braided steel lines for the oil pressure line but I'd rather not have it in the interior of the car if I can avoid it. So next time I update the gauge panel I'll switch to electric. I doubt there is an accuracy issue and the electrical gauges are easier to deal with.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539571
08/21/18 01:54 PM
08/21/18 01:54 PM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,137
Morristown Tn.
7
71birdJ68 Offline
master
71birdJ68  Offline
master
7

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,137
Morristown Tn.
Marshall insterments has some nice electric gauges, and they also have some that have programable warning lights with a remote if you want.

Last edited by 71birdJ68; 08/21/18 01:55 PM.
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: 71birdJ68] #2539576
08/21/18 02:00 PM
08/21/18 02:00 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,515
north of coder
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants
moparx  Offline
Dreaming of implants

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,515
north of coder
at one time, didn't someone offer an "isolater", similar as used in mechanical fuel gauges, for oil pressure gauges ?
beer

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539737
08/21/18 07:13 PM
08/21/18 07:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,177
So Near, Yet So Far
topside Offline
I Live Here
topside  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,177
So Near, Yet So Far
I should mention that if one uses a mechanical oil pressure gauge, use a metal line instead of the cheap plastic one that's usually supplied. Or use a braided stainless line, but that stuff's abrasive to whatever it might rub against.
I like Moparx's suggestion of an isolator, though I don't know how well it'd work at oil pressure #s.
I haven't had one gauge leak in 30 years. Only one that did was the plastic crap I used one time before that; it was pinched at the gauge fitting.
As for feeding the water temp sensor through the firewall, I've always found a hole already there somewhere so I didn't have to break out the drill.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2539775
08/21/18 10:01 PM
08/21/18 10:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 46
Missouri
R
randavis Offline
member
randavis  Offline
member
R

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 46
Missouri
I use a mechanical oil pressure gauge. I plumbed it with two stainless braided lines and use a bulkhead fitting in the firewall. I also use a tee in the block and keep the sending unit for the light.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: pushbutton] #2539935
08/22/18 09:51 AM
08/22/18 09:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
Oregon
E
earlymopar Offline
super stock
earlymopar  Offline
super stock
E

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
Oregon
Well duh. Of course that would happen. But there is nothing in the car until you open the end of the tube. The same thing is true with your heater hose!

- EM

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: PAULS_340] #2540040
08/22/18 02:55 PM
08/22/18 02:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,433
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,433
Bend,OR USA
I use to use the mechanical race gauges only, but not since I had a Autometer water temps read 40 F hotter than the water temps where in the upper radiator hose water with the electric water pump circulating the water shock The gauge was reading 145F and I stuck my finger into the radiator and it was right at body temperatures, 98.F according to a high dollar heating and air conditioning pocket thermometer shruggy
I've seen more than one mechanical temp. gauge read bad since then with other good brands puke
It is your choice, the new electric digital gauges are very accurate according to other older mechanical gauges as well as new analog electric gauges used on the same motor at the same time work scope

Last edited by Cab_Burge; 08/22/18 02:56 PM.

Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: MarkM] #2540184
08/22/18 09:22 PM
08/22/18 09:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,410
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline
top fuel
larrymopar360  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,410
Central Florida
Originally Posted By MarkM
Originally Posted By Magnum
I understand ALL the advantages of mechanical. Had them in the past. We can all pull it the "it's been fine for me" but to bring pressurized oil in the interior is a poor idea.


Had a line break on me a long time ago. Didn't have any tools on me with the exception of Leatherman I kept on my belt. Ended up driving twenty minutes home with one hand under the dash pinching the line off with those pliers. Never did get the stains out of the carpet and had to replace it later on. Been electric Autometer gauges ever since.
I had a problem with the brass fitting, but it was my own fault. I hadn't connected the brass ferrule properly. I didn't have any tools so I was driving back home with the line folded but hot oil still seeping. But again, my fault. After that, never had an issue with the gauge.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: larrymopar360] #2540322
08/23/18 09:33 AM
08/23/18 09:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,692
London, England
Gavin Offline
top fuel
Gavin  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,692
London, England
Honestly, it's a myth that mechanical are somehow inherently more accurate than electrical. In both cases you are taking a physical property like pressure of temperature and converting it to a gauge needle position. The accuracy is only as good as the measurement and the conversion. Every modern car uses electrical/electronic gauges for everything, including the speedo which has legal requirements for accuracy. So the accuracy of your gauge is down to the quality of the design & construction more so than the technology. Also, if we take a step backwards, how accurate do we need most gauges to be anyway? Realistically if they are within 5% of reality that's enough in most applications, and from a design/manufacturing perspective that is not really challenging.
In this day and age I wouldn't even consider a mechanical gauge unless there was some nostalgic appeal or you already had them for free.

Re: Need to add two gauges, water temp and oil pressure [Re: Gavin] #2540354
08/23/18 11:09 AM
08/23/18 11:09 AM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,137
Morristown Tn.
7
71birdJ68 Offline
master
71birdJ68  Offline
master
7

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,137
Morristown Tn.
I agree, they quit using direct mechanical gauges in large airplanes way back in the early thirties.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics194,381
Posts2,269,920
Members25,836
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
2007 Ram 1500 Transmission shift control module
by Frankenduster. 04/19/19 12:04 AM
71 Challenger taillights
by evenflow. 04/18/19 10:42 PM
New Reproduction Exhaust Bracketso
by Tom Swope. 04/18/19 10:20 PM
Manual Steering box
by mopar68. 04/18/19 10:03 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1