Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? #2523196
07/17/18 05:55 PM
07/17/18 05:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
there's been a few magazines and shops take all the components including sensors and instruments into an old car, but has anyone here done it? I really want to experiment with a gen3 and coupling it with the modern trans would make a great choice in my street car, but if the hurdles are too high I might use one in my bracket car and just use a 727.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2523214
07/17/18 06:39 PM
07/17/18 06:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,140
GA
roadrunninMark Offline
top fuel
roadrunninMark  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,140
GA
Guys are using the NAG1, you can use factory computers to run engine and trans; which means you need all the sensors. The other option is to go with a stand alone system for the engine and another for the trans. The engine is the easy one. For the trans, the guy to talk to is Sound German Automotive. http://soundgermanautomotive.com/

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2524257
07/19/18 09:52 PM
07/19/18 09:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,111
tri-cities Washington/Denver, ...
5
5280Dart Offline
super stock
5280Dart  Offline
super stock
5

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,111
tri-cities Washington/Denver, ...

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2524273
07/19/18 10:28 PM
07/19/18 10:28 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
Darius Offline
master
Darius  Offline
master

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
The blue GTX on his web site is mine. 5.7 /NAG1. Get the TCM from Russell. He was the FINAL solution when I built my car because NO ONE knew how to program a NAG1 when I did this swap it was 2014 or so when the people who sold me the computer gave up his name as the source since they screwed me over for 2 years before they finally admitted they could not program it.
HE is the NAG1 GURU!
It is an AWESOME performing set up. I get 18-20 MPG and have had even better when I am FORCED to keep it at 65mph. PLENTY of power, lots of speed. I have an 8 3/4 with 2:76 gear. You will love this set up for cruising and daily driving. Performs well on a road course too. I have not had it down the 1/4 yet. 14k miles in 3+ years and not one problem!

Last edited by Darius; 07/19/18 10:31 PM.

Driving modern convenience in classic beauty
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: Darius] #2524393
07/20/18 08:35 AM
07/20/18 08:35 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
Originally Posted By Darius
The blue GTX on his web site is mine. 5.7 /NAG1. Get the TCM from Russell. He was the FINAL solution when I built my car because NO ONE knew how to program a NAG1 when I did this swap it was 2014 or so when the people who sold me the computer gave up his name as the source since they screwed me over for 2 years before they finally admitted they could not program it.
HE is the NAG1 GURU!
It is an AWESOME performing set up. I get 18-20 MPG and have had even better when I am FORCED to keep it at 65mph. PLENTY of power, lots of speed. I have an 8 3/4 with 2:76 gear. You will love this set up for cruising and daily driving. Performs well on a road course too. I have not had it down the 1/4 yet. 14k miles in 3+ years and not one problem!

Cool! Do you have a build thread on here? What did you have to do to get the nag1 to fit? Is there an adaptor for the speedo or are you running aftermarket gauges?
What did the stand alone computer cost?


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2524563
07/20/18 02:56 PM
07/20/18 02:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
Darius Offline
master
Darius  Offline
master

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
https://www.forbbodiesonly.com/moparforum/threads/b-body-stiffening.1121/

Here is a link to a build thread on my car. It will answer tons of questions. It is a long read though. I think I pad around $1800 fro the TCM and I had to run after market ,Autometer, gauges. All explained in the thread.


Driving modern convenience in classic beauty
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2524591
07/20/18 03:26 PM
07/20/18 03:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
Awesome, I'll have a read.

Back in 2007 or so I danced with this idea, but there was only 1 company I could find helping people out with the swap then (I can't remember the name and can't seem to find them) they were down south somewhere and did GM swaps as well. I was debating 5.7/nag1, 5.7/518, 383/A500. I wanted to turbocharge and a local shop builds the big block to a500 conversion so I went that way. In 2009 I EFI'ed my 383 with a classic FAST box and in 2012 twin turbo'ed it. Still running that way but the itch to mess with a Gen 3 remains. My first car, a 69 Coronet has been languishing the last decade while we grew up some kiddos. It's set up to bracket race now (but no engine program left) and I have a 76MM turbo for it as well. I could do a 5.7/6.1 there but just use a 727.
But I have all this BB stuff laying around to put a program back in place.
But the street car would reap the benefits of the modern drivetrain.
But the street car runs as it does today EFI/turbo.

But but but and a string of 1st world problems to sort out smile


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525174
07/22/18 01:14 AM
07/22/18 01:14 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
Wow, your car is insane Darius!!! Much more than what I had assumed was 'just' a 5.7/nag1 transplant.

From your thread and some others it's a little unclear, at this point in time can a guy run the stock harness and computers and get by with a Diablo tuner? Some other people were saying that and I think you even were saying 'if so then I wish that existed when I did mine'?

I would want to turbocharge though, so would I be looking at spending $ on the hard parts of the nag1 as well then? 4200lbs Fury, really 'only' looking for 550-600hp or so, just 'fun' with the stock idle and drive characteristics.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525355
07/22/18 02:42 PM
07/22/18 02:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
Darius Offline
master
Darius  Offline
master

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
I think, based on MY experience, the BEST way to run the stock harness is if you run ALL 5 computers PLUS bring the rear axle assy or figure a way to install the tone rings and speed sensors on the rear axle. That harness is so HUGE with so many wires, both regular car current AND the digital transfer wiring that it is a nightmare to trace down and eliminate the stuff you don't want or need, like the fact it is from a 4 door car and you are installing in a 2 door. In the thread you can see where I actually had the harness in the GTX and ended up taking it out and just rewiring the entire car from scratch. Now this is if you are doing the dash and all like I did. If you stay with a stock dash or even run after market gauges you have a different deal. In my case, the Diablo only serves the engine management settings, nothing to do with the transmission inputs other than any RPM variable and that just CAUSES the shift points to vary accordingly. The guy I bought the TCM from told me they wanted it to use on the LX platforms they were racing and building 1000hp engines for. They never intended to use it in a retro type install.

Last edited by Darius; 07/22/18 02:43 PM.

Driving modern convenience in classic beauty
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525411
07/22/18 04:41 PM
07/22/18 04:41 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
To keep costs reasonable I was hoping for a different outcome, I'm sure the same reason you started with the stock stuff as well.
I would only be doing engine/trans/shifter and leaving the rest of the car alone.

So you have the stock ECM, the german TCU, and a hotwire harness now? Do you not need the front control module then?

Separately I need to learn about engine management capabilities for boost, need to read the LX forums for that.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525747
07/23/18 09:44 AM
07/23/18 09:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
Darius Offline
master
Darius  Offline
master

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
That is correct..stock ECM, TCM, Haywire harness with a 24 space fuse block.
No anti lock, air bag, or body controls computers.
Diablo will allow engine management to some pretty good degree but to be honest with you, I have never messed with that since we got the car running, it was that good from the get go. I don't race the car so I am not that particular about that aspect. It performs so well I don't feel the need to mess with it!


Driving modern convenience in classic beauty
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525816
07/23/18 12:18 PM
07/23/18 12:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
yes, if I wasn't already a boost junky I'd leave the ECM alone - and ideally I'd retain it for non=boost driving. That's been the hardest part about the EFI on my 383. Dialing in WOT is 'simple', dialing in the 1000's of different everyday driving scenarios is difficult and takes time. Mine drives fine but cold start hiccups a bit and I'm throwing mpg away I know just because I haven't had the 1000's of hrs to drive and tune like the OEM ECM's get.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525916
07/23/18 04:15 PM
07/23/18 04:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,180
Canada
WO23Coronet Offline
master
WO23Coronet  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,180
Canada

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525960
07/23/18 05:08 PM
07/23/18 05:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
yes, over the weekend, that was helpful! Looks like they can do JY sourcing of many of the computers of preference if I can't source a full lift out. The next piece is for me to understand fuel and timing with boost. On the LX forums it looks like the tuners are only capable of setting the WOT closed loop tables such that you can only have boost at WOT, at partial throttle it won't adjust and you'll go boom. I'm used to speed density system where I can control it at any MAP reading.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2525998
07/23/18 07:18 PM
07/23/18 07:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,180
Canada
WO23Coronet Offline
master
WO23Coronet  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,180
Canada
You need to get in touch with a good CMR tuner (hemifever, Greene Racing etc) for the boost stuff, or by the software yourself and become a tuner!

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: WO23Coronet] #2533341
08/08/18 04:34 PM
08/08/18 04:34 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,651
BC Canada
O
ogopogo Offline
top fuel
ogopogo  Offline
top fuel
O

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,651
BC Canada
was the NAG1 available with the 6.4 hemi?if so id like to do that swap into a 70 challenger i have, wondering what yr donor cars to look for to get the complete package...thnx

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: ogopogo] #2533509
08/08/18 10:27 PM
08/08/18 10:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,180
Canada
WO23Coronet Offline
master
WO23Coronet  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,180
Canada
Yep, from 2011-2014 until the 8 spd came out in 2015. NAG1's a tough transmission

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2533578
08/09/18 01:29 AM
08/09/18 01:29 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
Nag1 lived behind the 5.5L supercharged Benzo that made like 700lbft as well, but not all are equal. Anyone know the hard parts upgrades from ones behind 5.7, 6.1, and 6.4?
I emailed hemifever off his own website, never heard back fwiw. Other guy seems to only be on FB and I'm not.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2534040
08/10/18 02:05 AM
08/10/18 02:05 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,620
IL
Any1 have measurements on the nag1? my a500 fit the C body with no cutting, just a new cross member....could I be so lucky with the nag1?


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2534088
08/10/18 10:17 AM
08/10/18 10:17 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 277
The Netherlands, OV
D
dickdale Offline
enthusiast
dickdale  Offline
enthusiast
D

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 277
The Netherlands, OV
sykedecutuning.com

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics193,507
Posts2,259,665
Members25,803
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
It just needs a little TLC !
by Frankenduster. 03/24/19 04:32 AM
Remember when they just CRUSHED junk cars?
by Frankenduster. 03/24/19 03:06 AM
Narrowed E-body rear sway bar fitment?
by tpabayflyer. 03/24/19 02:30 AM
2006 dakota trans issue ?
by theraif. 03/23/19 10:53 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1