09/10/16 01:32 AM
JERSEY
RJS Offline
master
RJS  Offline
master

JERSEY
Originally Posted By TJP
I run a restoration shop and buy several sets of tires a year through various sources. What have noted in the last year or so is that the Coker tires are no longer bundled together but wrapped separately to prevent the transfer of pigment to the RWL or whitewalls. Hmm just an observation and we have bright white RWL's and whitewalls whistling shruggy popcorn

Means nothing, the two sets that just did this to me were sent separate with the blue/green soap on the letters. Washed them with nothing more than soap and water to make them bright clean White and they turned brown after being driven.
Ron

Re: BFG TA [Re: Dons Dart] #2151486
09/10/16 05:55 AM
09/10/16 05:55 AM
Northern Calyfornua
S
Sxrxrnr Offline
pro stock
Sxrxrnr  Offline
pro stock
S

Northern Calyfornua
I have been fighting the good fight on this issue for 2 years now. Have spoken to Michelin, owner of Goodrich numerous times. Gotten all types of stories, none admitting that the have a problem.

Posted on many forums including this one. Been told that I do not know how to detail tires, been told to use this chemical product or that one. Believe me, I have used them all,,even sandpaper and pumice.

I've run these tires for for 40 years. Until recently I had no issues with the letter discoloration.

The last set I purchased for my 1971 Corvette 275's and 255's immediately turned brown. Replaced all 4 of them twice,,,,as soon as the blue protective coating has been removed they start to discolor to brown.

I have 2 friends with Mopars place 275's rear 235's front. 275's immediately turn brown, 235's remain white.

Current belief is that Michelin changed formula for the rubber for whatever inane purpose on their larger tires,,,smaller one's likely later will be hit.