03/29/16 12:07 PM
03/29/16 12:07 PM
Proud South
A
a440plus6 Offline
a440plus6  Offline
A

Proud South
I pondered whether to let this thread die or respond and decided the latter is the way to go to explain my reaction to the OP.
I have been restoring Mopar parts for the public for 35 years but have been restoring the cars for over 40 years….yea…I’m an old codger now.
I am an original founding member of the judging criteria for the Platinum Judging at the Mopar Nationals and Chryslers At Carlisle…that means…we wrote the judging rules/criteria for the highest judging standards in the Mopar Hobby.
Our group had been restoring Mopars for years and did it without all the choices in reproduction parts that are available today.
We had to run down NOS parts and pay the price or restore our original pieces if we lucky enough to still have them.
I have not advertised my services for 30 years and have many of the top resto shops in my customer base now for those 30 years because of the quality and correctness of my services and the no BS way I do business.
Since I have been restoring parts for the hobby for so long that I know all the parts on these cars very well and know the pitfalls to restoring each one of them.
We will take a 2 Speed Wiper motor for example….If you want me to restore a mid 68 thru 74 2 Speed….I MUST talk to you on the phone before you send it so I can make you aware of the problem areas that are not included in the base cost of a restoration.
On a 2 Speed the main problem is RUST PITTING.
If the customer sends it I disassemble it and if it’s not going to be a high quality finish I contact the customer with their options of which they can choose.
OP was made aware of the problem and chose to go with what was there so that’s what I did and after it was finished I sent him pics so he could see the finished product and make any changes before I shipped it.