B
bulletpruf Offline OP
super stock
bulletpruf  Offline OP
super stock
B

San Antonio, Tx
Fellas -

Trying to make some progress on my street/American Iron 71 Javelin project (500 hp aluminum headed 401, T-10, full floater 9" on composite leaf springs, stock-ish front suspension, blah, blah, blah) and could use some help. I need to finish up the engine compartment welding so I can blast/prep and paint it and install the 401/T10.

Here's the project starting point - rust free California car (mullet not included):

Piper Motorsports in Sterling, VA did the cage for the car - 1.75 x .120 DOM with a bit of 1.5 x .095 (rear X and gussets).

I didn't have Piper brace the front of the shock tower to the subframe because I didn't know exactly how much room I had. Turns out that I have plenty of room. Anyway, since I'm a rookie (I've got maybe 1 hour total welding experience, but I'm getting the hang of it), I could use some tips before I fire up my MIG (Millermatic 211).

Here's what the NASA CCR rules state: "Each mounting plate shall be no greater than one hundred (100) square inches and no greater than twelve (12) inches or less than two (2) inches on a side. Welded mounting plates shall be at least 0.080-inch thick. Plates may extend onto vertical sections of the structure. Any mounting plate may be multi-angled, but shall not exceed one hundred (100) square inches total including vertical sections. Each mounting plate should have an area of not less than nine (9) square inches."

What I'd like to do - pick up some mild steel already cut to size (I don't have a chop saw or band saw yet). Thinking 1/8", 1/4" or somewhere in between. Having a hard time getting a measurement off the current mounting plates (3" x 6") because of the welds.

I think a 3" x 6" plate would work for the front of the shock tower.

As for the subframe mount, I'll have to do a 90 degree bend and either go up or down. I'm thinking down is the hot ticket so I can weld on the subframe.