06/14/12 12:47 PM
06/14/12 12:47 PM
A
Andrewh Offline OP
master
Andrewh  Offline OP
master
A

so on the corners, do the shocks play a very important part?

that is, if they were stiffer in the corners vs the straights would that be better?

is there any reason for shocks to be stiffer in the straights?

if you could alter the ride height in the corners, would it be better for the outside to increase in height or for the inside to decrease in height for ability to corner?

Or is it even possible physics wise to get the inside to lower since it is unloading weight?

or does this angle make no difference?

finally, do they make an alterative to springs and shocks/struts?
torsion bars and shocks?
or are those the only choices in this game?

Re: track/cornering questions on what suspension does. [Re: Andrewh] #1250895
06/14/12 01:02 PM
06/14/12 01:02 PM
Marysville, O-H-I-O
70Cuda383 Offline
Too Many Posts
70Cuda383  Offline
Too Many Posts

Marysville, O-H-I-O
I'm no pro, but isn't that basically what the sway bar does? it pushes down on the outside tire ("lift) and pulls up on the inside tire ("drop"), as the body rolls when going through the corner?

**Photobucket sucks**
Re: track/cornering questions on what suspension does. [Re: Andrewh] #1250896
06/14/12 01:11 PM
06/14/12 01:11 PM
So Cal
autoxcuda Offline
Too Many Posts
autoxcuda  Offline
Too Many Posts

So Cal
Shock control a few things.

The high frequency small movements of small bumps in the road with high speed dampening. That would be the high speed straights.

How fast/slow weight is transfered low speed dampening.

That's real basics. It's much much more complicated. I'd google on of the aftermarket shock manufactures and see if they have a 1-2 page brief explanation/primer.

Here's a video of the front suspension of my car:

http://youtu.be/je5oeamQ_uw

Re: track/cornering questions on what suspension does. [Re: autoxcuda] #1250897
06/14/12 01:28 PM
06/14/12 01:28 PM
A
Andrewh Offline OP
master