B
bulletpruf Offline OP
super stock
bulletpruf  Offline OP
super stock
B

San Antonio, Tx
Fellas -

Getting tired of paying $50 per block for magnafluxing. I have 4 blocks, two pairs of heads, and three cranks at the machine shop now getting cleaned and magged (maybe $300 worth of magnafluxing?). Thinking about telling them not to worry about magging the blocks and just picking up a setup to do it at home.

I have zero experience here; anyone have any recommendations on what to use? Dye? Magnetic particles? All the stuff I have at the shop now is iron, but I do have a few engines that run aluminum heads, so I'd like to have that capability, too, but understand that it might be two different methods.

Thanks

Scott

Please Check Out My YouTube Channel for Vintage Musclecar and Truck Rescues and Builds -- https://www.youtube.com/@THEBULLETPROOFGARAGE/videos
Re: Inexpensive Magnaflux Kit for Checking Blocks at Home? [Re: bulletpruf] #1210933
04/06/12 04:01 PM
04/06/12 04:01 PM
Delray beach, Florida
P
Performance Only Offline
top fuel
Performance Only  Offline
top fuel
P

Delray beach, Florida
ferrous and no ferrous metals need different methods to check for cracks.
my guess is when you find out how much it costs just for the proper equipment to mag a block properly, you'll be happy to pay your machinist to do it. the other side of that, is that without the expertise to actually detect a crack, (aside from the gaping type) you may unknowingly miss the hard to detect cracks.
i wouldn't want to add up the money i've spent to be able to detect cracks in crankshafts, blocks, heads, (both aluminum and cast iron) etc. but i know it's several thousand dollars.

machine shop owner and engine builder
Re: Inexpensive Magnaflux Kit for Checking Blocks at Home? [Re: Performance Only] #1210934
04/06/12 06:02 PM
04/06/12 06:02 PM
San Antonio, Tx
B
bulletpruf Offline OP
super stock
bulletpruf  Offline OP
super stock
B

San Antonio, Tx
Quote: