12/16/10 09:23 AM
12/16/10 09:23 AM
Wilmington, NC
donbarnes Offline OP
Not THAT Don Barnes!!
donbarnes  Offline OP
Not THAT Don Barnes!!

Wilmington, NC
No meltdown yet just some jumpy needle and pegging one way or the other issues...I have a new Powermaster alt and regulator ready to go in, and going to clean all the connections, but also want to beef up the bulkhead issue. I've downloaded the diagrams from an old post here showing how they bypass the Amp gauge altogether and the black wire from the alternator end ups going straight to the starter relay..But I like the sound of the other method I've heard of where you leave all the original wiring intact and have a working amp gauge, and just add another wire from the alt through the bulkhead to the amp gauge, then back to the relay. Basically just adding an extra wire that mimics the original setup, but doesn't have a bulkhead connector in it. Any drawbacks to this method? thanks in advance...

Re: Bulkhead Connector Fix- Which Method? [Re: donbarnes] #881528
12/16/10 12:01 PM
12/16/10 12:01 PM
West Coast, USA
jbc426 Offline
master
jbc426  Offline
master

West Coast, USA
Did you add any additional electrical loads from stock? Do you have factory a/c or power windows? I don't believe running the larger gauge wire from the alternator to the amp gauge and then from the amp gauge to the starter relay is the best idea, because your amp gauge is not designed to handle the increased current of an aftermarket alternator. You might get away with it, if there is no additional electrical load being supplied to anything non-factory.

Mad Electric's suggestion of routing the alternator wire to a main distribution point(usually the starter relay for us Mopar folks) and bypassing the amp guage in exchange for a volt meter is just tried-and-true great advice, especially if you are adding any additional aftermarket electrical loads to your car.