09/08/23 04:45 PM
09/08/23 04:45 PM
Eugene, Oregon
Secret Chimp Offline OP
super stock
Secret Chimp  Offline OP
super stock

Eugene, Oregon
This feels like a silly question but I am only a dumb hobbyist and don't have much practical shop experience.

I need to get the transmission out of my 67 Coronet for a rebuild. I have only ever swapped the engine, the trans has never been out.

Last time I did a trans job on another car, I bought super-tall jackstands to get the thing out from the bottom. Felt very iffy, but most of my difficulty was reaching a ton of weird bellhousing bolts because it was on a 90s BMW and not a 60s American car.

I am wondering if it would save me overall time and effort to just yank the thing out with the engine as a single unit?

I have the mid-sized Harbor Freight shop crane and a load leveler. I've pulled the engine out of the thing before with the same setup. Would you judge it more effort to remove the hood, remove the gas lines/coolant lines/headers/etc and pull the whole shebang, or do it from underneath?

I don't have any kind of a lift, I only have a floor jack. I do have a big truck-sized transmission jack. I'm wondering if I am making too much out of worming around on the floor again, or if it is not that big of a deal to do. What would you say?

1967 Dodge Coronet Deluxe station wagon

1.03" T-bars, QA1 arms/rods, Cordoba/GM Metric/Volare brake & knuckle, XHDs, Hellwig rear sway, 318 Magnum w/ air gap, 727, 3.23s
Re: Trans - out the top, or from the bottom? [Re: Secret Chimp] #3173827
09/08/23 05:16 PM
09/08/23 05:16 PM
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Bend,OR USA
If you don't have a good set of jackstands tall enough to hold your car up off the floor so you can roll the trans out from underneath it then removing the motor and trans together is the only other way to get it out, correct work up