10/03/06 07:41 PM
10/03/06 07:41 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

Jim: I'm no expert on this, but I've heard that painting on top of imperfections can actually amplify them. I could be wrong tho. Marq and Exit, what do you guys think?

Re: Paint Type Summary Request #25979
10/03/06 07:58 PM
10/03/06 07:58 PM
Canada
Marq Offline
mopar addict
Marq  Offline
mopar addict

Canada
Quote:

Jim: I'm no expert on this, but I've heard that painting on top of imperfections can actually amplify them. I could be wrong tho. Marq and Exit, what do you guys think?

This is where the patience factor comes in to the formula. The more time and care that you take to get the body prepped, the more superior the finished product.

The same holds true for each layer that you are coating on to the car. A bad layer is not going to magically disappear as you slap more coats of paint on. That is one of the reasons we pause between every second coat to do a little wet sanding. Just to make sure that mistakes don't build upon mistakes.

Re: Paint Type Summary Request #25980
10/03/06 08:03 PM
10/03/06 08:03 PM
toronto canada
69chargeryeehaa Offline OP
pro stock
69chargeryeehaa  Offline OP
pro stock

toronto canada
Quote:

yes and no.

yes - to small really fine scratches from sanding will be "filled" by the paint in a few coats.

No - when we're talking about dents, deep scratches, ect.....painting them really makes them jump out, and then your like, OH MY GOD, look at that dent.!!!!

One tip i can give you guys is when prepping a car, use your hands to "feel" the car, they will tell you more than your eyes. you must be at one with the car, feel the car, touch the car....gently, and you will understand.

Re: Paint Type Summary Request [Re: 69chargeryeehaa] #25981
10/03/06 09:20 PM
10/03/06 09:20 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A