07/02/06 09:07 PM
USA
_
_Scott_ Offline
_Scott_  Offline
_

USA
Hi all,

Like many other people I linked into this topic via another forum at about page 7 of the original thread. I went to the beginning and have been following ever since. I have about 5 years of experience working in a body shop (but have since moved on), so I think I'm qualified to offer a few pointers.

Something that has been mentioned a few times, but I believe has not been emphasized strongly enough is the prep-work. This thread is about paint on a budget which evolved into the roller and mineral spirits method of applying rust paint (props to 69Charger for figuring out how to get rust paint to harden BTW.) I'm afraid there are people who are getting so excited about having shiny paint for $50 that they don't even think about the prep work, and it shows in some of the pics we've seen. Prep work can make or break the end result. If your favorite color is applied by whatever method (brush, roller, spray, fingers) to a turd, all you end up with is a shiny turd in your favorite color.

So a word of advice to those who don't already have experience prepping a car for paint, learn that first. There are several forums worth looking at, here is one to get you started:
http://www.autobody101.com/forums/index.php