Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2382376 - 10/05/17 11:01 AM used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK?
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 32519
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
Well used cam/lifters in the right order (318) to go into another engine (360) to get it running to sort out leaking head gasket issue, will there be a problem with this? A guy mentioned once that the slight lifter bore angle difference from engine to engine would be an issue. thank you for your time.
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2382380 - 10/05/17 11:05 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
DrCharles Offline
master

Registered: 04/12/06
Posts: 3141
Loc: West Plains, MO
popcorn

Some feel that it's OK but you have to go through another break-in since there are slight differences in lifter bores. Others will tell you not to even try. Or just go ahead and run it if you're using stock or near-stock spring pressures. Or buy an inexpensive new Summit cam/lifter set (which then needs a break-in)...

Top
#2382381 - 10/05/17 11:08 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: DrCharles]
Supercuda Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 12397
Loc: West Texas
Originally Posted By DrCharles
popcorn

Some feel that it's OK but you have to go through another break-in since there are slight differences in lifter bores. Others will tell you not to even try. Or just go ahead and run it if you're using stock or near-stock spring pressures. Or buy an inexpensive new Summit cam/lifter set (which then needs a break-in)...



So, to translate...

I dunno.

Me, used stock 318 cam and lifter in a stock 360, I'd just run it. But that's my opinion, not interested in guessing other's opinions.
_________________________
Moparts hosted sig picture

Top
#2382389 - 10/05/17 11:24 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
burdar Offline
Owens' Dad

Registered: 10/31/06
Posts: 6169
Loc: Iowa
I had a stock 340 purpleshaft cam in a 360 for awhile before upgrading. I saved the cam and labeled all the lifters. Later on, I installed the cam in a 318. I put the lifters back on the lobes they came off of and did another break-in. I don't have a LOT of miles on the engine but so far so good.
_________________________

Top
#2382391 - 10/05/17 11:27 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
EV2Bird Offline
On Vacation

Registered: 06/23/14
Posts: 2631
Loc: Kansas Roads Between 0 and 140...
If your going to do it very short term, Id think youd spot/hear a [roblem before it filled your engine with alot of junk or worse.

Ive seen friends do it, actually did it for them with there parts and it worked every time in a mild application, id not do it myself because im just that lucky.

Top
#2382393 - 10/05/17 11:39 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: Supercuda]
wingman Offline


Registered: 06/23/04
Posts: 2066
Loc: St. Charles, MO
Originally Posted By Supercuda

So, to translate...

I dunno.

Me, used stock 318 cam and lifter in a stock 360, I'd just run it. But that's my opinion, not interested in guessing other's opinions.


I'm afraid all you are going to get on this topic is opinions.

I'd wager that NO cam/lifter manufacturer is going to endorse/recommend this practice.

And I'm sure you'll get guy's chiming in with anecdotes: "I've done it and it ran 100,000 miles" or "My buddy did it and trashed his motor".

I'd be shocked if there has been any kind of study done to say yea or nay.

Ultimately it comes down to how much you have invested in the motor and how much you want to invest, it's intended use, the life you hope to get out of it, and how lucky do you feel...

Top
#2382394 - 10/05/17 11:43 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
jlatessa Offline
super stock

Registered: 08/31/09
Posts: 700
Loc: Ohio
Took a stock cam and lifters from my A-12 a loooong time ago and put them in my buddy's GTX, he ran them for ten years with no problems,

So on a low buck deal, I say give it a try...
Joe

Top
#2382427 - 10/05/17 12:40 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: wingman]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 32519
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
Quote:
how lucky do you feel...
this is the leaking head gasket from Hell eng (5th fireup just went bad) so I do not feel lucky! Thanks a bunch guys...
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2382510 - 10/05/17 02:28 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
Azzkikrcuda Offline
pro stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 1587
Loc: North Dakota
I have a Bigblock Mopar 484 cam and lifters that just went into its 5th engine last week. I had to replace the lifters this time because they got rusted from sitting. I expect no problems, lobes still look nice.
_________________________
The only Carbs I care about are under the hood!

Top
#2382519 - 10/05/17 02:39 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
Michael Ecks Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 1017
Loc: Columbus, GA
I would do it with no break in and no worry, but I've pretty lucky with such things. If you're concerned and assuming the wear pattern on the cam itself looks normal, then get a fresh set of lifters and go through normal cam run in proceedure. Coat cam with high pressure grease, verify lifter rotation, break in additive, 30 min at 2200 rmp or so, change oil, etc. etc.
_________________________
"The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of
your thoughts" ~ Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius

Top
#2382523 - 10/05/17 02:43 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
Twostick Offline
master

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 4708
Loc: Downtown Roebuck Ont
Stock cam and springs? I've done it. 340 cam to a 318 with assorted lifters from a bucket. No ill effects and no break in, just threw it together and ran it.

Kevin

Top
#2382533 - 10/05/17 03:05 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
Paul_Fancsali Offline
master

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 2875
Done it 7 times never a problem I soak lifters in ATF then I lube cam with bearing grease

Top
#2382623 - 10/05/17 06:06 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: Paul_Fancsali]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 32519
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
Alright You (all) have convinced me, I will go ahead & not sweat it, this is actually going to be brief run in times to try & sort out the head gasket situation. I did not want a potential bunch of metal in there if it turns out I can resolve this with just a gasket change as opposed to a complete tear down (#6) but I don't feel lucky!
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2382661 - 10/05/17 07:05 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
Frankenduster Offline
Moparts proctologist

Registered: 02/15/10
Posts: 14684
Loc: Granite Bay CA
I don't know why anyone would criticize this. The lifters are going back on the same lobes. If the lifters spin easy in the bores of both engines, it will make no difference.
3 things lead to cam/lifter failure:
Improper break in.
Improper oil/lubrication.
Lifters do not rotate in the bores.
If the cam and lifters were fine in the first engine and the lifters rotate easily in the 2nd block, there is no reason to anticipate a failure if you use good oil.

Top
#2382668 - 10/05/17 07:12 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
amxautox Offline
Still Retired. Still Posting on Moparts. A Lot.

Registered: 05/13/03
Posts: 95487
Loc: On The Boat, On The Lake, Wa. ...
I've done it, no break-in, no problems.

And it wasn't no stock cam either, high lift, somewheres in the .530" or more. Been MANY years ago, in the late '60s, '68 or '69.
_________________________
Tom

"Everyone should believe in something; I believe I'll go fishing."

-Henry David Thoreau

Men and fish are alike. They both get into trouble when they open their mouths

author unknown


Top
#2382699 - 10/05/17 08:07 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: Frankenduster]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 32519
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
Quote:
Lifters do not rotate in the bores.
If the cam and lifters were fine in the first engine and the lifters rotate easily in the 2nd block, there is no reason to anticipate a failure if you use good oil.
Noted, I will confirm they rotate when I hand spin the cam.
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2382864 - 10/06/17 07:50 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
1969 HEMI R-T Offline
mopar

Registered: 08/14/08
Posts: 543
Loc: West Central Wi.
I put a used purple shaft in my 340 years ago. but I did install new lifters. never had a problem. the oil quality then may have helped!
_________________________
HEMI,S ARE FOREVER!!!

Top
#2382935 - 10/06/17 11:14 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
FurryStump Offline
top fuel

Registered: 10/15/04
Posts: 2415
Loc: Connecticut
Lifters spin, good to go.
_________________________
best of 12.10@113mph 68 340 formula s fastback,Money delete option,Supercar shootout stock appearing.

Top
#2383059 - 10/06/17 03:46 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: FurryStump]
Neil Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 11973
Loc: Eagle, Idaho
I sold a used 268 comp cam for $20.00 years ago to a friend and he installed it in his engine with new lifters and ran it no problems. As far as I know that engine is still together.

I wonder if there was some way the cam companies couldn't do a break-in before selling them? Make up some sort of machine that replicates the top half of an engine that runs off an electric motor for 20 minutes while motor oil is being recirculated over the moving parts. I bet people would pay more for a cam that was ready to go, or closer to it. So long as the lifters spin free in the customers block it seems like there would be a little less to worry about.

Top
#2383063 - 10/06/17 04:02 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: Neil]
csk Offline
super stock

Registered: 08/13/11
Posts: 840
Loc: KATY TEXAS
Originally Posted By Neil
I sold a used 268 comp cam for $20.00 years ago to a friend and he installed it in his engine with new lifters and ran it no problems. As far as I know that engine is still together.

I wonder if there was some way the cam companies couldn't do a break-in before selling them? Make up some sort of machine that replicates the top half of an engine that runs off an electric motor for 20 minutes while motor oil is being recirculated over the moving parts. I bet people would pay more for a cam that was ready to go, or closer to it. So long as the lifters spin free in the customers block it seems like there would be a little less to worry about.


Here you go, Camshaft break in machine

CLICK HERE
_________________________
19224947_1413292565396115_7838440587402544531_n by Charlie Keel, on Flickr

Top
#2383071 - 10/06/17 04:23 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: csk]
Neil Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 11973
Loc: Eagle, Idaho
Wow, now that is pretty cool!

Top
#2383110 - 10/06/17 06:04 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
BigBlockMopar Offline
master

Registered: 01/22/03
Posts: 3121
Loc: The Netherlands
I've put used solid lifters from a different cam (which had wiped a lobe) on another hydraulic cam which was also a used one.
I picked out the lifters with no visible dish.
The lifters were incomplete so I used a 3 more solid lifters from another used stash.

I put some cam-paste on them and ran them through the rpms for about 5 orso minutes.

Ran it for three years without issues.
This was in a 496" stroker with Edelbrock heads.
_________________________
BigBlockMopar.com


Top
#2383176 - 10/06/17 08:29 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
RTSrunner Offline
super stock

Registered: 11/03/03
Posts: 1173
Loc: Pittsburgh,PA
I would think break in on a machine may be a bit inaccurate due to lifter angle and spacing variables vs any given engine block it would be installed into.
RT

Top
#2383240 - 10/06/17 10:34 PM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RTSrunner]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 32519
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
Yeah that'd be the same as what I was considering.
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2383795 - 10/08/17 09:50 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: RapidRobert]
6PakBee Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 5463
Loc: North Dakota
I think that the statements in the FSM concerning camshaft and/or lifter replacement for stock components is the best guide. I'm not going to post any of the verbiage in the FSM because if you don't have the FSM for your car, you should get one.
_________________________
Wife says too many cars, liquidation coming soon......

Top
#2383821 - 10/08/17 10:32 AM Re: used cam/lifters into another block. Problem or OK? [Re: 6PakBee]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 32519
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
are you talking about lifter/bore clearances? I'm haveing an issue there too (low psi). I may have to use my solid & tube it (or bush em with the current hyd).
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
24,898 Registered Members
32 Forums
184,216 Topics
2,134,045 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Trick Flow head porting/modification
?

by DGS
Today at 04:04 AM
Cheap 2dr Valiant
by UCUDANT
Yesterday at 10:38 PM
What don't I get here??!! Help
by EV2 340
Yesterday at 10:25 PM
1970 Roadrunner Vin, title & radiator # on FB RM21N0A123482
by grancuda
Yesterday at 09:45 PM