Quicktree Offline OP
I Win
Quicktree  Offline OP
I Win
Q

HORSEPOWER TIPS:

Solid Fuel Combustion
By Don Terrill (c) RacingSecrets.com

You can find inspiration in the damnedest places.

Years back the wife and I spent the summer going to different types of racing -- from Human Powered Vehicle (HPV) racing to the Soap Box Derby. At every event I saw something that could be applied to auto racing. For example at the Soap Box Derby it was all about frictional/aerodynamic drag and how they drove the course. Even though the lanes are straight, they weren't perfectly flat and the racers figured out how to take advantage. Do auto racers look at these things? Yes, but at nowhere near the focus of Soap Box racers.

Sometimes inspiration can even be found outside of racing. Last fall we installed a wood stove in our house. Given I was a wood stove newbie, you'd guess that I looked at the stove directions or asked for advice. Nope, I just jumped right in, figuring it was a simple task -- Just throw in some newspaper, kindling, firewood and light a match.

At first I thought I only needed to worry about the amount of fuel (wood) and inlet air. Well, I quickly learned the key to a great fire is building heat in the firebox -- getting the cast iron hot. At this point combustion becomes very easy and efficient. Too much inlet air during warmup has a real cooling effect. Yes, of course air and fuel are important, but everything becomes easier when the "combustion chamber" is hot.

How to apply this to racing engines:

* Good Warmup - A thermostat and the ability to add load to the engine will quicken this process.

* Block Filler (Grout) - Only applicable for short term racing like drag racing. Most people think this helps performance because it stabilizes the cylinder walls, Nope, it's because it creates the condition where you can have a hotter lower engine and cooler upper engine at the same time.