07/14/11 08:58 PM
07/14/11 08:58 PM
phx, az.
J
J code Chargers Offline OP
J code Chargers  Offline OP
J

phx, az.
Well after visiting 3 different body shops yesterday, it appears I will be painting my 70 Bee myself. Body shops are just too expensive when I was willing to do 80% of the work myself ( taking down to metal, body work, blocking etc...)
I have painted several of my cars in the past, but have always shyed away from dealing with metallic paint (BC/CC)
Can anyone give me hints on how to avoid uneven paint application with the metallics? I dont want the car to be in the sun and have "tiger stripes" visible.
Thanks

Re: plum crazy paint question [Re: J code Chargers] #1032695
07/14/11 10:10 PM
07/14/11 10:10 PM
Rome, GA
G
GTXX Offline
GTXX  Offline
G

Rome, GA
I can't give you a technical answer about painting like some, but I can tell you that I'm no pro painter either but have painted several solid color cars. I was worried like you about my first metallic and was told it's alot easier with BC/CC than a single stage, and it is. Just get it all covered well and you should be fine.

Re: plum crazy paint question [Re: GTXX] #1032696
07/16/11 09:39 PM
07/16/11 09:39 PM
Cleveland
sunroofgtx Offline
I Live Here
sunroofgtx  Offline
I Live Here

Cleveland
Good luck, you can do it. Make sure you use a red primer. If you use the gray, the purple will appear a lot lighter. Good luck.. Take pics.

Join the quickest team in motorsports. Team FireCore. CustomWiresets.com
Re: plum crazy paint question [Re: J code Chargers] #1032697
07/16/11 11:02 PM
07/16/11 11:02 PM
Mass
DAYCLONA Offline
I Live Here
DAYCLONA  Offline
I Live Here

Mass