F
Fury Fan Offline
master
Fury Fan  Offline
master
F

Indiana
Quote:

The carb tuning may have left some on the table. When using the wide band I could never get all aspects of the carb tune good at the same time. I found to get a good idle tune you gave up some in the cruze tune, to get a good wide open throttle tune you gave up some in the cruze area, or the part throttle area, and vice a verse. I adjusted for 3 years always trying to get it better with a tweak here and an air bleed adj. there. What I always ended up with was a compromise of all ckt's of the carburetor tune. I think with the EFI it nails it in all areas. I am no expert but it is just my 2 cents.

And this is the issue with carbs. Average carb guy sets for smoothness, clean plugs, non-stinky-rich exhaust, then tweaks for more power. Unless he has a WB, he has no idea that his carb is compromising in one area of another. EFI not only offers significantly greater adjustability, but it monitors and adjusts itself too.

Last edited by Fury Fan; 09/21/12 12:50 PM.

Parts I seek: driver doorpanel, 65 Sport Fury, prefer black, needs to be 7-8 on 10 scale, might buy set 16" x 6" Dodge truck wheel(s), from early 70s?, takes 9" dogdish - need for a research job so cheaper is better. 69-73 C-body caliper brackets and/or splashields Send a PM.
Re: Atomic EFI Update [Re: DaytonaTurbo] #1283572
09/21/12 01:02 PM
09/21/12 01:02 PM
Indiana
F
Fury Fan Offline
master
Fury Fan  Offline
master
F

Indiana
Quote:

Quote:

May I ask why you altered the system and went with a return line? The Magnums have returnless fuel systems and they seem to work ok.

The magnums do have a return regulator, it's just installed at the gas tank. GM did similar with their ls engines. I don't know the reasoning for it, but it doesn't seem to cause a problem.

Most 'new' OEM EFI systems are returnless (from perhaps 2002 and up?).