10/30/10 03:26 PM
10/30/10 03:26 PM
Indiana
maxie Offline OP
master
maxie  Offline OP
master

Indiana
The reason I am asking is because I am a toolmaker by trade. I have been in the trade for close to twenty years now. I can run anything in a toolshop from
jig bore, jig grinder, od grinder, id grinder, any lathe, cnc lathes and mills, bridgeports, surface grinders and tig welding.

I am asking because there is a local shop wanting to hire an engine machinist to polish cranks and do head work. I stopped by and dropped off my resume and spoke with the manager of the store. He is going to give my resume to the guy in the shop that is retiring after thirty years of doing it.

I have built some of my motors and understand all of the workings of the stuff, but I am just wandering how they feel my experience would help me with what they do.

What do you think?

Re: Any Engine Machinist Here [Re: maxie] #842163
10/30/10 03:46 PM
10/30/10 03:46 PM
St. Paul , Mn.
tubtar Offline
master
tubtar  Offline
master

St. Paul , Mn.
I went to school to be an automotive machinist.
And spent 12 years doing everything in a metal stamping house ........from press operator to class "A" tool maker / machinist.
They are radically different in most regards.
You are removing metal in a precise manner for a lot of it.
But as an automotive machinist , unless you are in a race and performance environment , you will have an emphasis on productivity.
Dip it and ship it.
For what they charge for most operations , you can't stand back and admire your last cut , you have to be finishing the second one.
That I am a car hauler now is a result of circumstance and one bad choice , but I don't have any regrets.
I graduated from school in 1981 and needed a job.
I applied at a couple shops and tripped over a job driving O.T.R.
Did this for eight years and got burned out .....went to work at a short-medium run house and they put me through school and treated me very well.