Print Thread
Finally first time out ever, best time 12.21 at 110mph #445818
08/22/09 09:16 AM
08/22/09 09:16 AM
Milwaukee, WI
joflaig Offline OP
joflaig  Offline OP

Milwaukee, WI
I've been dying to get to the track for the first time for so long, but have been so busy and the weather has been so lousy I didn't make it until last night. Still it was overcast and in the low sixties and at night. This was at the WIR in Kaukauna, WI. It was a Test n' Tune night, but out of over a hundred plus cars I was literally in the only mopar muscle car. There was a nice guy behind me driving a Neon.

Anyway, for a total newbie pulling up to the line in front of a hundred people in a GL probably brings some expectation, but I just shut everything out of my mind and focused. Unfortunately, nobody I knew could make it and come along so I have no video. The first run I did a nice long smoky burn out (these were MT ET drag radials at 18psi). From 2nd I rolled into 3rd (manually shifting an automatic here). Some other folks there said I should run those MTs at 12psi. I keep hearing different things. MT's tech line said 18, so not to over complicate things and create too many variables I left it at 18 for the three runs I got in.

Anyhow, the other guy double-bulbed me. I staged, the lights started going yellow, I put my foot into it a bit to get the RPMs up and took off on the last yellow. The guy in the Neon behind me was watching. He later said in classic Mopar fashion the whole car raised up about half a foot when I launched. I had no wheel hop or tire spinning. I'm not sure what "hooking" feels like yet. Anyway, I had my shift dial set at 5300 on the tac on my steering column, so that by the time the car actually shifted from 1st, which is what I started in, and into second the car would actually (I hoped) shift at about 5500.