03/26/08 07:23 PM
03/26/08 07:23 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

holy crap, 12 coats with BS and no gloss? Im still a noob myself and would like to know why there is no gloss.

wait. are you using the same grit everytime you wetsand?

Re: New how to paint your car on a budget with a roller #38075
03/26/08 08:37 PM
03/26/08 08:37 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

nope different grits

gone up from 200, 400, 800, 1000, now on 1200,

but i have just ran out of paint for the test peice and decided to do the final sand and hand polish with some really cheap polish.

the shines defo there ill post some pics tomorrow when there is some light. but still id like to know why there was no gloss up until now!

Re: New how to paint your car on a budget with a roller #38076
03/26/08 09:30 PM
03/26/08 09:30 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

what are you cutting it with because usually after the first coat there is gloss make sure that you bought gloss and not satin

Re: New how to paint your car on a budget with a roller #38077
03/26/08 10:00 PM
03/26/08 10:00 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

im using it streight out the can,

and yup its defo gloss

anyone elce used snow white before?

looking at the gloss ive got from the limited polishing ive done its still not that shiny compared to some unpolished jobs on here. it might be different in the natural light tomorrow. ill have a look (its 2am over here in the uk)

Re: New how to paint your car on a budget with a roller [Re: blk00rt] #38078
03/26/08 10:19 PM
03/26/08 10:19 PM
Southern, Ca.
69DartGT Offline OP
moparts member
69DartGT  Offline OP
moparts member

Southern, Ca.
Quote:

while I am about two weeks off from trying the rolling method. My question is has anyone tried to spray the door jams and such. If so how much did you thin the paint. I am thinking 4:1 for Rustoleum but am worried that might be the wrong mix.
Thanks