07/06/18 11:31 AM
07/06/18 11:31 AM
Dunnellon, FL
longram60 Offline
mopar
longram60  Offline
mopar

Dunnellon, FL
I have no experience with them, but thinking about using them in a NHRA stocker I am building. Here is an article showing significant gains...
https://www.hotrod.com/articles/ccrp-0301-dyno-performance-piston-ring-test/

1979 AMC Spirit, NHRA Q/SA
Re: Toatal Seal Gapless rings, fact or fiction? [Re: Hemi ragtop] #2518374
07/06/18 01:00 PM
07/06/18 01:00 PM
usa
L
lewtot184 Offline
master
lewtot184  Offline
master
L

usa
I guess i'm lucky but I don't have any real ring issues with whatever I've used, BUT I don't use any gimmick rings or low tension oil rings. my oil problems are always some place besides the rings.

Re: Toatal Seal Gapless rings, fact or fiction? [Re: longram60] #2518380
07/06/18 01:11 PM
07/06/18 01:11 PM
Val-haul-ass... eventually
B
BradH Offline
Taking time off to work on my car
BradH  Offline
Taking time off to work on my car
B

Val-haul-ass... eventually
Originally Posted By longram60
I have no experience with them, but thinking about using them in a NHRA stocker I am building. Here is an article showing significant gains...

I know David Vizard is a big proponent of them, but the debate on SpeedTalk has never been resolved to anyone's satisfaction.

Some folks say they see small power gains.

Others say there's no power benefit, but the engines "stay fresh" longer.

And others, like RAMM, have reported oiling issues; he's NOT the only one to have raised this issue, for anyone who thinks he's an outlier on this subject.

I don't have an R&D budget to prove/disprove their benefits to myself. Since my own limited findings have been inconclusive, I'm using a more traditional ring pack now.