Great Lakes State
O
ONEBADBIRD Offline OP
mopar
ONEBADBIRD  Offline OP
mopar
O

Great Lakes State
O.K. I have a 440 short block. I want to do a budget build on this motor. I have not taken any measurements on the motor. Took it down to the short block though and it was super clean inside no gunk at all. It must have always had the oil changed by previous owners. On the pad it has a "Maltese cross" and an "X" which means an 0.010 undersized crank. If I were to drop in new crank and rod bearings in the motor which size would I have to order? I plan on a rebuilt set of iron heads and use factory exhaust manifolds. Change out piston rings possibly? Just plan on using it on the street not looking for any certain 1/4 mile times. Just want to have a motor that can offer up some weekend fun. I'm new to this stuff so just bear with me and some of my questions. Now on some of your budget builds what has worked out for you? Can you give some ideas on what and what not to do. Thanks Jay

Re: I have a 440 short block... What to do? [Re: ONEBADBIRD] #213241
02/03/09 08:33 PM
02/03/09 08:33 PM
Lincoln Nebraska
R
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track
RapidRobert  Offline
Circle Track
R

Lincoln Nebraska