Zebulon
S
Stationwagonguy Offline OP
A Closet Buick Man
Stationwagonguy  Offline OP
A Closet Buick Man
S

Zebulon
I have a '78 Impala, just got it running again after it sat for almost 15 years. Anyhow, the "generator" light is on on the dash, and I'm trying to figure out what the issue is. The battery will obviously take some charge, but not an awful lot. I haven't actually had a chance to fully charge it either, but it took a jump pack to get it running and after running a half hour (mostly at idle), when it stalled out, I had to jump it to start it again. It would only crank about one revolution then give up. However, all the lights seemed to still work fine.

I don't know- I'm guessing since the generator light is on, it's either the alternator or the battery. How do I test either to be sure if either are good or bad? I'd rather troubleshoot than just throw money at it.

I do have a multimeter, but I'm not that good with it.

Thanks!

[image][/image] Bob SWG '68 Chrysler Town & Country, 'Katy Jo' '70 Chrysler 300 2-door '78 Impala 2-door
Re: How do you test an alternator? [Re: Stationwagonguy] #142596
10/28/08 02:50 PM
10/28/08 02:50 PM
Florida
S
scratchnfotraction Offline
I Live Here
scratchnfotraction  Offline
I Live Here
S

Florida
take the hot wire off the batt while it is running....if it shuts off the alt is bad

if it stays running its a low or bad batt

use the multi meter to check for 14 volts while its running at the batt...may be a little more than that if its got a low batt and the alt is chargeing at the time of the reading

have the alt tested at a parts store before replacing it to be sure

good luck....

Re: How do you test an alternator? [Re: scratchnfotraction] #142597
10/28/08 02:54 PM
10/28/08 02:54 PM
Kirkland, Washington
Pacnorthcuda Offline
Too Many Posts
Pacnorthcuda  Offline
Too Many Posts

Kirkland, Washington
Quote:

take the hot wire off the batt while it is running....if it shuts off the alt is bad