Topic Options
#14166 - 01/25/05 11:10 AM Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda
MaxCuda Offline
member

Registered: 07/21/04
Posts: 57
Loc: Virginia, USA
Im looking for some info on adding a front swaybar to my cuda. I know the LCAs are different but I heard you can buy the tabs and weld them on instead of changing the whole control arm. Where could I get these and what are the measurements for welding them on?

Also, what diameter front sway bars were optional from the factory?
_________________________

Top
#14167 - 01/25/05 12:23 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: MaxCuda]
InViolent Offline
master

Registered: 03/04/03
Posts: 4389
Loc: Kenmore, New York
Go to Firm Feels WebSite. I believe they sell front sway bar kits. I can say that their rear kits look very impressive from what I've seen!
Most of the Suspension outfits (PST for example)sell front sway bar kits for eBodies that have the add on tab as well..
_________________________

Top
#14168 - 01/25/05 03:46 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: InViolent]
MaxCuda Offline
member

Registered: 07/21/04
Posts: 57
Loc: Virginia, USA
Thanks I'll check with them. Anyone know the stock diameters for the front sway bars?
_________________________

Top
#14169 - 01/25/05 06:38 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: MaxCuda]
Blakcharger440 Offline
top fuel

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 2388
Loc: Wichita,KS
Does the sway bar run through the K-member on 70 Ebodies like the 70 Bbodies do???

Top
#14170 - 01/25/05 06:57 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: Blakcharger440]
JDMopar Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 7825
Loc: Candler,NC / Myrtle Beach, SC
I think stock sway bars are 7/8.70 B&E body sway bars are the same,and go thru the k frame.
_________________________

Top
#14171 - 01/25/05 07:03 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: JDMopar]
Snailpower Offline


Registered: 09/11/04
Posts: 1913
Loc: Brunswick, Jawgia
I will be adding a sway bar to the front and rear of mine in the next couple of weeks, and I don't have the tabs either. I had planned on making them, but if there is a company that already has them made, it would save some work.
_________________________
70 Coronet- turbocharged 360/518/3.73 SG

Top
#14172 - 01/25/05 08:04 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: Snailpower]
JDMopar Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 7825
Loc: Candler,NC / Myrtle Beach, SC
Somebody posted a really detailed drawing/pattern for making them on here a while back...but I can't remember who I'd buy them too if someone has started making them.
_________________________

Top
#14173 - 01/25/05 08:08 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: JDMopar]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Correct me if I am wrong but I believe Addco's front sway bar kit is a direct bolt on kit and doesn't require any tabs to be made. Summit part# aco-595g

Top
#14174 - 01/25/05 09:22 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: MaxCuda]
5spdcuda Offline
top fuel

Registered: 11/21/04
Posts: 1708
Loc: S. Il. U.S.A.
The stock sizes are 7/8 and 15/16. Addco bars come with bolt on tabs. Make sure that you keep the front roll rate higher than the rear or you will induce oversteer, what stock car people call loose.
_________________________
'72 Cuda 365 cid. 5-speed

Top
#14175 - 01/25/05 09:29 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: MaxCuda]
Anonymous
Unregistered


not to hijack this tread..... but...

I've got a 72 Challenger Rally parts car with front and rear sway bars. Didn't all e-bodies come with sway bars? Are these a factory option with the rally and are they worth taking off and saving? Will I have to also save the control arms?

Top
#14176 - 01/25/05 10:06 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda
MaxCuda Offline
member

Registered: 07/21/04
Posts: 57
Loc: Virginia, USA
No, all Ebodies did not come with sway bars. My car came with neither front nor rear. The sway bar lower control arms have the mounting tabs and non sway bar cars had no mounting tabs on the control arms.

Addco bars bolt on to control arms without tabs? Interesting. I also noticed firmfeel has kits for cars that did not originally come with bars. Maybe they use something similar. Does anyone have pictures of how these "tabless" sway bar setups mount?
_________________________

Top
#14177 - 01/26/05 05:45 AM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: MaxCuda]
71STROKERFISH Offline
mopar

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 550
Loc: OKLAHOMA
I recently added front and rear sway bars to my 71 Cuda. I bought some ebay LCA's(cheap)and cut the mounting brackets off, welded them only mine. They are very easy to locate since they are right next to a large fastener, and butted up to the top of the LCA.

Check out ebay or TENHemi who previously posted. I added an ADDCO front/rear bar to my 74 Duster years ago. All I remember is drilling in the LCA's to mount their supplied bracket. It worked. Good luck!


Attachments
1446541-DSC04878[2].JPG (190 downloads)

_________________________

Top
#14178 - 01/26/05 11:13 AM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: 71STROKERFISH]
CJK440 Offline
master

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 9980
Loc: Ansonia, CT
I put an aftermarket bar on mine that I got through PST.

It has brackets that mount to the stock K-frame position and the bar goes through the K frame itself. It came with beefy bolt on tabs that you could easily weld in addition to the bolt.

I think the bar is 1"
_________________________
Just enjoying the drive...... Back to basics with a little boost thrown in.

Top
#14179 - 01/26/05 07:21 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: MaxCuda]
jml19621 Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 01/02/05
Posts: 358
Loc: Rhode Island
I have a few questions I have just started a 70 challenger RT. I have the factory rear and front sway bar. I want to keep them. I can get the Rubber parts for both. However I cannot find anyone to sell the hardware for front, the U-clamps that bolt to ther front. I don't have any hardware to hang the rear. Here is the question is there anyplace were I can get these? or any other year that will work?

Top
#14180 - 01/26/05 08:46 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: jml19621]
Ronnman Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 1170
Loc: Slidell, LA
bracket drawing copied from another post.
Ron
See attachment


Attachments
1448637-LCA Bracket drawing.jpg (235 downloads)



Edited by dbdartman (01/28/05 06:57 AM)

Top
#14181 - 01/26/05 08:46 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: Ronnman]
Ronnman Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 1170
Loc: Slidell, LA
bracket in fabrication.
Ron


Attachments
1448640-LCA Bracket fabrication.jpg (157 downloads)


Top
#14182 - 01/26/05 08:48 PM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: Ronnman]
Ronnman Offline
super stock

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 1170
Loc: Slidell, LA
Bracket after welding. I don't remember who posted this, but I thought they were well made.
Ron



Attachments
1448647-LCA Bracket fabrication2.jpg (159 downloads)


Top
#14183 - 01/27/05 05:58 AM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: Ronnman]
71STROKERFISH Offline
mopar

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 550
Loc: OKLAHOMA
Man that is some awesome fabrication!!!!
_________________________

Top
#14184 - 01/27/05 07:03 AM Re: Adding front sway bar - 70 Cuda [Re: Ronnman]
MaxCuda Offline
member

Registered: 07/21/04
Posts: 57
Loc: Virginia, USA
Thanks Ron, thats what I was looking for!
_________________________

Top

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,260 Registered Members
32 Forums
189,026 Topics
2,204,547 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
Happy 4-26 Day
by hemi-itis
04/26/18 01:05 PM
Turks-Drag Pak Bullet
by 64HemiSavoy
04/26/18 12:55 PM
Easy parking cars is not a new idea
by bigdad
04/26/18 12:46 PM
'72 Challenger $1200 in Roselle, N.J.
by Scotts72Rallye
04/26/18 12:38 PM