S
Slant6pak Offline OP
enthusiast
Slant6pak  Offline OP
enthusiast
S

Houston, Texas
Hey guys,

Hope this is right forum for this? For those that have several restorations under their belt... In what order do you do everything? How to plan out purchases?

I'm just curious. I've been spinning wrenches on old cars for about 15 years... and sometimes feel like I just running in circles. I'll chalk a good bit up more youth, less patience.

But now as the big 3-0 is nearing I've got my head on little straighter and am ready to concentrate on one car and tackle a real restoration.

I have a nice garage, and I can actually afford to build a car. And I have a new project, my 71' Plymouth.

I've set a budget of 35k and I hope to finish the car in 6 years. I can afford to invest about $5-600 a month in the car.

I'd like some advice on how to keep things moving forward. For lack of better words, in what order do you like to restore a car? Paint and body first? Sub-assemblies first? Taking stock of what is on the car... I have a fairly solid shell and nice trim... everything else needs to be restored, replaced or located. Definitely not the drive while restoring kind of car.

I've resisted the urge to tear the car apart (except for removing the some of the trim for safe keeping) and checking for hidden rust.

In what steps to do like to paint the body? Seems to be a never ending battle between paint coverage and overspay...

Second question, in what order do you buy parts? I'm going through catalogs and starting to make lists... but I'll have to stick to my monthly budget. What reproduction parts should I buy now, what can wait. Same for original parts.

2016 Challenger Scat Pack Shaker smile

1000 ci Brass Era Speedster project
Re: Budgeting and Planning a Restoration? [Re: Slant6pak] #1309605
09/24/12 12:30 AM
09/24/12 12:30 AM
Spokane Washington
ScottSmith_Harms Offline
Mr Wizzard
ScottSmith_Harms  Offline
Mr Wizzard

Spokane Washington