Goodyear Arizona
M
midnite360 Offline OP
super stock
midnite360  Offline OP
super stock
M

Goodyear Arizona
Hey, I have a 1969 Barracuda with a 318, I would like to swap in a 340. Would this blow any attempt to pass an emissions test?

Re: Engine Swap and emissions. [Re: midnite360] #1277263
07/31/12 11:16 PM
07/31/12 11:16 PM
Chino Valley
RodStRace Offline
I Live Here
RodStRace  Offline
I Live Here

Chino Valley
Background: I was a smog tech in CA for many years. I am not fully versed in AZ laws, but they probably follow CA for the most part.

1. the car could have been built with a 340. This means that provided you install a similar year engine and equip it with all the components required and installed on a 69 340, you should be fine.
2. Unless they are very thorough or know that a 318 didn't come with a 4 bbl that year, they may not even catch that the engine has been changed. They didn't require us to verify casting numbers.
3. I was going to say that you should go to the source for the rules, but I checked and it's a typical gov't nightmare!
Here is the CA info. This is NOT AZ INFO, but explains what you have. BTW, they don't do vehicles older than 1975...
http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aftermkt/replace.htm/
Engine Changes
Engine changes are legal as long as the following requirements are met to ensure that the change does not increase pollution from the vehicle:
The engine must be the same year or newer than the vehicle.

The engine must be from the same type of vehicle (passenger car, light-duty truck, heavy-duty truck, etc.) based on gross vehicle weight.

If the vehicle is a California certified vehicle then the engine must also be a California certified engine.

All emissions control equipment must remain on the installed engine.