Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2544277
09/01/18 02:42 PM
09/01/18 02:42 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,632
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,632
IL
For me it's about the mpg for daily driving. My charger gets 7mpg with a slobbery cam. Fury gets 10-11. 5.7 + oem 5spd should be 15+mpg commuting. Plus I'm used to many gears now. Plus it's a fun engineering project.


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2544279
09/01/18 02:43 PM
09/01/18 02:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,632
IL
furious70 Offline OP
top fuel
furious70  Offline OP
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,632
IL
Are there benzo forums to learn more about this?


70 Sport Fury
68 Charger
69 Coronet
72 RR
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: savoy64] #2544331
09/01/18 05:31 PM
09/01/18 05:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,538
fredericksburg,va
C
cudaman1969 Offline
master
cudaman1969  Offline
master
C

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,538
fredericksburg,va
Originally Posted By savoy64
so what do you do with that clunky mercedes shifter? looks like it would be hard to cut down to fit into a stock console.....i am leaning toward a 46HD where you can use the stock shifter and console-----with this much power i cant see the need for a 6 or 8 speed unless its is just to brag about all the gears and how cool it is.........

Any cable shifter would work with the right gate, just a lever like a 727 and no kick down lever, works off vacuum. Hot rod ingenuity will be required.
I wouldn't even bother if it didn't have overdrive in 4th or 5th. Waste of time.

Last edited by cudaman1969; 09/01/18 05:34 PM.
Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: cudaman1969] #2544492
09/02/18 02:53 AM
09/02/18 02:53 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5,258
Downtown Roebuck Ont
Twostick Offline
master
Twostick  Offline
master

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5,258
Downtown Roebuck Ont
Originally Posted By cudaman1969
Originally Posted By savoy64
so what do you do with that clunky mercedes shifter? looks like it would be hard to cut down to fit into a stock console.....i am leaning toward a 46HD where you can use the stock shifter and console-----with this much power i cant see the need for a 6 or 8 speed unless its is just to brag about all the gears and how cool it is.........

Any cable shifter would work with the right gate, just a lever like a 727 and no kick down lever, works off vacuum. Hot rod ingenuity will be required.
I wouldn't even bother if it didn't have overdrive in 4th or 5th. Waste of time.


Depends on what the lower gear ratios are whether it would be a waste of time or not. A 4something:1 1st with good progressions to a 1:1 5th would make a 2.76 diff pretty sporty.

Kevin

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2546111
09/05/18 12:35 PM
09/05/18 12:35 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,143
GA
roadrunninMark Offline
top fuel
roadrunninMark  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,143
GA
Russell says you can use your original shifter but you have to put in some micro switches. This will make it compatible with the newer shifter "electronics" - his controler - to make it work.

Savoy, I went with a 42RH and strengthen it during the rebuild. They can handle a lot more power that way. The 42RH is smaller and uses less power to turn vs. 46RH. The 42RH also has a better gear spread (2.74 vs. 2.45 1st gear). 2nd gear slightly different as well with 3rd and OD being the same. If you are building a cruiser and around or under 400hp, I think this is the way to go. Look for in 93-94 dakotas, mine came from a V6. The V-8 42rh has a different drum to hold more clutches but if you can add that later. I didn't. I am not that knowledgeable so I upgraded everything I could.

I read a few times here in Moparts that you want a "10 to 1" ratio for first gear. A 2.74 first gear and a 3.55 in the diff gets you just about that. With the .69 OD, that brings the 3.55 down to a 2.45! Awesome for highway cruising.

I would have went for the NAG1 instead had I only the one project car to spend the bucks on.

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2546121
09/05/18 12:51 PM
09/05/18 12:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,960
colorado
S
savoy64 Offline
top fuel
savoy64  Offline
top fuel
S

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,960
colorado
yep----i run a 42rh on my 318 64 savoy-----the upgrade is basically 998-999 stuff-----and the 2006 i drive has some type of electric shifting between 3-5-----i still think factory shifter looks like crap in a vintage mopar---but thats just me.....

Re: Any1 use the NAG1 or torqueflite 8 in an old mopar? [Re: furious70] #2549616
09/13/18 02:11 PM
09/13/18 02:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
Darius Offline
master
Darius  Offline
master

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,706
Sacramento, Ca
On the tunnel mod, I raised it appx 3/4". If I had it to do over i would have cut the long side on the passenger side and the top and bottom ends and simply rolled the "lid" up and patch back in the gap.
As for mileage, I get very consistent 18 around town and have had as much as 25mpg when I am "forced" to maintain posted speed limits! Also ran the GTX on the 1/4 mile last week. First run EVER in that car and I ran a 14.07. A few more runs and get my light timing down and it will be in the high 13's.
Weight is 3700 lbs exactly with 53% front and 47% rear.
Russell is great!


Driving modern convenience in classic beauty
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics194,533
Posts2,271,878
Members25,849
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
Imperial Transmission Interchange
by QuickDodge. 04/24/19 10:01 PM
TAILGATE LOCK
by A/MP. 04/24/19 09:24 PM
Removing power valve
by varunner. 04/24/19 09:20 PM
3.54 vs 3.73 performance difference
by 73cuda340. 04/24/19 08:10 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1