Moparts

Graveyard cars repaired 383 MASSIVE CRACKS

Posted By: Moparnut426

Graveyard cars repaired 383 MASSIVE CRACKS - 02/10/23 05:21 PM

Pretty impressive the shop that repaired that 383, thing many years ago would be JUNK. They cut out the bad spots completely out, ground them down, and brazed them together, and they held to a running engine, AND they looked good on the outside! very impressed they managed to not only fix the cracks, fix the lifter valley blow outs, re square the block, but did it in a way that honestly being a welder myself, looks to be very very reliable. I wish they would have plugged that repair shop in the show.
Posted By: CMcAllister

Re: Graveyard cars repaired 383 MASSIVE CRACKS - 02/10/23 07:11 PM

I'd like to see that bill.

Shop must have refused a freebie for a plug.
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: Graveyard cars repaired 383 MASSIVE CRACKS - 02/10/23 08:07 PM

Originally Posted by Moparnut426
Pretty impressive the shop that repaired that 383, thing many years ago would be JUNK. They cut out the bad spots completely out, ground them down, and brazed them together, and they held to a running engine, AND they looked good on the outside! very impressed they managed to not only fix the cracks, fix the lifter valley blow outs, re square the block, but did it in a way that honestly being a welder myself, looks to be very very reliable. I wish they would have plugged that repair shop in the show.

I've had a lot of cranks repair by several different good machine shops, none of them ever brazed a crack in a crank, NEVER. There is a welding rod that looks like brazing that I have seen used by good crank shops when they added weight onto a counterweight to finishing the balancing work shruggy
Posted By: blue_stocker

Re: Graveyard cars repaired 383 MASSIVE CRACKS - 02/10/23 09:22 PM