Moparts

UPDATE! How to race on a poor track with drag radials

Posted By: Kam*Kuda

UPDATE! How to race on a poor track with drag radials - 08/05/22 11:15 PM

Fairly new driver, and we have a 1/8 track that is not great prep.

I am learning and trying to get consistent
I am getting better at the light but need help on this track as my 60 changes a lot

1968 Plymouth RR
About 3500 lbs plus me at 200 lbs = 3700 approx
Ladder bars are 32 inch
Single Adjustable strange shocks with 170lbs springs

I am not experienced but on a good track its
9.6-9.7 1/4 mile times
1.48 60 foots
140-142 mph

I am racing at a pretty poor track and 60 foot at 1.6-1.7s

Radial ET Pros 15 lbs

I spin pretty bad and let off and then get back in and its fine for the rest of the 1/8

Ladder bar is in middle hole. which is parallel to the ground at 0 degrees

Suggestions have been to go to the upper home

Get a lighter spring for the shocks.

Should I leave in 2nd?

Its hard to test and tune at this track as it has no prep on those day (I have tried)

Attached picture jacquie-rr-sm.jpg
Posted By: John Burdine

Re: How to race on a poor track with drag radials - 08/05/22 11:45 PM

Not sure about the bad track, but 9.60 on a good track with a 1.48 60ft is leaving a lot on the table. Probably should go a tenth better in the 60ft on the good track.
Posted By: Dragula

Re: How to race on a poor track with drag radials - 08/06/22 12:51 AM

Put big slicks on it and don't worry about it....Or, invest in traction control...Ruining a car for no reason is silly.
Posted By: A/MP

Re: How to race on a poor track with drag radials - 08/06/22 12:59 AM

Stock eliminator cars with good HP and 9" radials have problems hooking up on bad tracks. It can be worth -.5 on their good track ET. As you know, SE cars are well thought out when it comes to weight transfer. Have you tried uping the tire pressure until you get a better result? 2nd gear is an option.
Posted By: dvw