Moparts

RMS street linx vs Caltracs

Posted By: 1mean340

RMS street linx vs Caltracs - 07/26/22 07:07 PM

Pricing out rear setups for the hellcat swapped E body i'm building and with 35 spline ford 9" rears the prices are coming out just about the same for either an RMS street linx rear or a caltracs setup.

I have a lot of experience with GM triangulated 4 links and I know they can do a lot of things very well, including 60 foot with big power cars when set up right and also feel great on the street.

I have no real experience with caltracs and I haven't seen a lot about the RMS 4 link setup other than guys who have it seem to love it.

My car is primarily a street car that sees occasional drag track use. It should be making in the neighborhood of 750-800rwhp with the modded hellcat on E85.

I know the street linx will be a more well rounded setup, but has anyone ever run it behind a lot of power on a car with a good tire that sees the drag track? Wondering if it can hold up to that kind of abuse and how well it works. I think I've mostly only seen it on 500hp street cruisers

Posted By: CMcAllister

Re: RMS street linx vs Caltracs - 07/26/22 07:15 PM

Street lynx = street, restomod, handling, corners, cruising

Caltracs = drag racing

One is only marginal when used for the other purpose.

Having installed, driven and used both, they both work well for their intended purpose.

For your intended use, the RMS. Just don't get sloppy or cut corners installing it.

If you're familiar with the old GM stuff, and want to drag race it, look at what is used on some of the Stocker Chevelles. Modifying/fabing brackets to change the bar angles, especially the top bars, to a more drag race friendly angle, would be a good idea if your are serious beyond just making a pass once in awhile. Good shocks with drag race valving will also help.
Posted By: GY3

Re: RMS street linx vs Caltracs - 07/27/22 03:25 AM