Moparts

manual trans lube question

Posted By: 68LAR

manual trans lube question - 06/27/21 08:14 PM

Since the beginning, I've always run Dexron ATF in my tranny. Been thinking lately... I know the fluid must be a GL4. So, instead of running the heavy 75W-80, or the ATF, what would the effect be of running, say a straight 30 or 40 weight engine oil be? The only reason the I'm considering a change is that my tranny, being an 18 spline and slick shifted, is kinda noisy on the street. Lately, I've been doing more and more street driving. Thus the noise issue.(or non issue) Thoughts???
Posted By: AndyF

Re: manual trans lube question - 06/27/21 09:04 PM

Try Redline MTL
Posted By: fourgearsavoy

Re: manual trans lube question - 06/27/21 09:38 PM

When I was a Honda tech back in the mid 80's they ran straight 30 weight in all their manual boxes and they shifted like butter and lasted half a million miles shruggy Never tried it in my boxes but I do run one quart of 30 weight motor oil mixed in with the mineral based 75-90. I've see a few cluster gears flaked where the rollers ride from ATF. twocents
I ran the Redline in my Richmond when it still had syncros and I didn't like the way it power shifted.
Gus beer
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: manual trans lube question - 06/27/21 09:41 PM

Try using the new Pennzoil manual tranny lube up twocents
Posted By: JERICOGTX

Re: manual trans lube question - 06/28/21 02:12 AM

I switched to the Redline oil this year, and am not impressed with it. Noticeably harder to shift. I only have 6 passes on it though. If it doesn’t get better next time out, I’m dumping it, and going back to Mobil 1 synthetic.
Posted By: DrCharles

Re: manual trans lube question - 06/28/21 02:34 AM

Remember that gear oil weights are not the same as the motor oil weights...
https://www.thelubricantstore.com/understanding-the-viscosity-grade-chart

Attached picture viscosity.jpg
Posted By: W.I.N. Racing

Re: manual trans lube question - 06/28/21 04:19 PM