Moparts

WHAT STARTER ?

Posted By: n20mstr

WHAT STARTER ? - 10/18/19 01:36 PM

Ive seen these threads before...BUT I have a Mopar Mini already. WHat I have is a 13.7 comp and a 12v battery. Now its starting to kick back, backfire etc. Not good. Im making the switch to a litium 16v. Next step is a better starter ? WHat brand ?
Posted By: bigdad

Re: WHAT STARTER ? - 10/18/19 01:42 PM

Change to a 16 v ..

Or, I run two big 12 volt batteries from Napa .. the really big ones
Posted By: Al_Alguire

Re: WHAT STARTER ? - 10/18/19 04:04 PM

I have a Powermaster on the Stratus with a 16V Lithium Pros battery and no issues and this engine is fairly difficult to turn over by hand as it has 60MM Babbit gearings and a fair amount of spring. The dragster has an XS 16V with a Mopar mini starter with zero issues, I did purchase a Powermaster for it as well but so far zero issues with the Mopar mini
Posted By: madscientist

Re: WHAT STARTER ? - 10/18/19 04:09 PM

Originally Posted by n20mstr
Ive seen these threads before...BUT I have a Mopar Mini already. WHat I have is a 13.7 comp and a 12v battery. Now its starting to kick back, backfire etc. Not good. Im making the switch to a litium 16v. Next step is a better starter ? WHat brand ?

If you are already running two 12 volt batteries skip the 16 volt deal. Buy a series parallel switch and run the starter off 24 volts. With that switch, only the starter gets 24 volts and everything else always gets 12 volts.

Much better way to do it than going to 16 volt stuff.
Posted By: Al_Alguire

Re: WHAT STARTER ? - 10/18/19 04:29 PM

My Lithium battery weighs just over 9lbs, the XS in the dragster weighs 30lbs. Both way better options that 90 plus pounds of battery in the car..
Posted By: John_Kunkel

Re: WHAT STARTER ? - 10/18/19 04:35 PM

WHat I have is a 13.7 comp and a 12v battery. Now its starting to kick back, backfire etc.

Tuneup? Have you tried killing the ignition until the starter gets up to speed?