Moparts

Tig welder recommendations

Posted By: RV2

Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 02:37 AM

I'm looking for a quality entry level tig welder, I will be doing Chro moly and aluminum work.
Thanks
Posted By: sgcuda

Re: Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 02:54 AM

I got one of the Vulcan ProTig 200 units from Harbor Freight. It does steel and aluminum, uses both 110 and 220. Does decent job for the money. I got mine as an open box special during a parking lot sale. $450.
Posted By: Hemi_Joel

Re: Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 02:56 AM

A Miller syncrowave 210 is what was recommended to me, so that's what I got. But I am not very experienced, so I can't provide much feedback.
Posted By: jcc

Re: Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 02:59 AM

Entry level tig welder is like an entry level helmet.

Go big or go home.
Posted By: justinp61

Re: Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 03:04 AM

I have a Miller Syncrowave 250DX that I got a great deal on when the plant I worked at closed. If I were buying new I'd buy an inverter machine with pulse, my 250 draws over 90 amps at full load.
Posted By: W.I.N. Racing

Re: Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 03:12 AM

Originally Posted By jcc
Entry level tig welder is like an entry level helmet.

Go big or go home.

iagree thumbs
If your gonna buy a welder...buy a welder you will have for as long as YOU want it. I too recommend Miller, I've had and used other brands but Miller is what is in my shop now and in the future (new purchases). And like Racing helmets, Cheep helmets are for Cheep heads...what are your eyes worth.
Posted By: CMcAllister

Re: Tig welder recommendations - 10/29/18 03:15 AM