Moparts

Best dual plane for my Magnum 5.9?

Posted By: gregsdart

Best dual plane for my Magnum 5.9? - 01/15/17 04:56 PM

I plan on putting the following cam in a boneyard 5.9 Magnum engine, for my street dart. 279 duration, 225/225/106 @ .050 with .480 lift. There are different runner sizes available from what I here, with the Edelbrock airgap being the biggest, and the Pro products ( chinese knockoff) being the smallest. I want lots of torque in the 2500 to 4000 area because the converter will be a fairly tight street unit,(2400?) with the car being primarily a street car.Has anyone done any back to back comparisons on these, dyno or drag strip tests, and what were the conditions like stall and traction?
Posted By: Locomotion

Re: Best dual plane for my Magnum 5.9? - 01/15/17 09:04 PM

I have no experience with these, but....

Trust in quality may be a concern with Pro Products. I would have thought that port size would be similar because of it being an Air Gap "copy". There still is a M-1 dual plane from Mopar for smaller ports than the Edelbrocks.

http://www.manciniracing.com/mopduelplanm.html

Maybe to help make an educated choice, search to see if there are any dyno numbers using those intakes in LA applications. The HP/torque curve numbers should be similar to their Magnum counterparts.

Any concerns using an Air Gap style without heat crossover in the winter months?
Posted By: cudadoug

Re: Best dual plane for my Magnum 5.9? - 01/15/17 09:22 PM

Didn't Dulcich (sp?) do a intake comparison for small blocks? I read it in print somewhere and IIRC, the Eddy Air Gap was the overall champ.

Re: Best dual plane for my Magnum 5.9? - 01/15/17 09:48 PM

Originally Posted By cudadoug
Didn't Dulcich (sp?) do a intake comparison for small blocks? I read it in print somewhere and IIRC, the Eddy Air Gap was the overall champ.

Thanks, I forgot about that one.

Small block Mopar dyno tests. LA
Posted By: Blucuda413