Moparts

radial slicks

Posted By: deaks

radial slicks - 07/14/15 10:38 PM

I need a new set of slicks for my Dart and was thinking of trying a set of radials, i do around 70 passes a year at most with the car, i currently run 31x10.5 hoosiers. Would my car pick up any et with these ? and what would be the nearest size ?
Mick
Posted By: rickseeman

Re: radial slicks - 07/14/15 10:49 PM

I've tried radials on my Chally. Radials run faster, but I'm not good at making a car hook up. I have to stick with wrinkle walls.
Posted By: tex013

Re: radial slicks - 07/14/15 11:49 PM

Mick ,
you will have to go here for similar size -
http://www.mickeythompsontires.com/strip.php?item=ETDragRadial
Here for Pro bracket radials -
http://www.mickeythompsontires.com/strip.php?item=BracketRadial
Hoosier -
https://www.hoosiertire.com/Drtire.htm
I don't think Hoosier will have your size

But remember your rag slicks grow and the radials don't , so gearing/trap rpm will be different . Suspension will also need adjustment .
I run a 275 Hoosier , never run a rag slick

Tex
Posted By: gregsdart

Re: radial slicks - 07/15/15 12:44 AM

You should see a tenth, more if you can run them with lots of air pressure. They will be good on a prepped track, but they have a reputation of either hooking or losing as much as .04 to .06 in 60 ft if they don't hook. Not much middle ground, they don't recover well. I saw a loss of at least .06 when mine wouldn't hook, but that was on an 8.80 car, 3,000 lbs. I was running 14.5 x 15 x 33 Mickeys
Posted By: shorthorse

Re: radial slicks - 07/15/15 01:00 AM

You'll probably get lots of different opinions on radial slicks.