Moparts

Next up : Steel shortage in 2021

Posted By: bigdad

Next up : Steel shortage in 2021 - 01/08/21 01:04 PM

I work as a traffic manager for a steel company, prices are on the rise ..fast and we have been rationed the amount we can buy in 2021 , based off 2020 purchases .. it is our normal slow time of the year so , no affect currently we bought everything we could for Jan and Feb and they closed purchases until March 1st now .

The expectation is lots of new white appliances being sold and new cars .. they got the 1st priority so it appears

If you are planning a new steel building better sign the contract and quick
Posted By: tboomer

Re: Next up : Steel shortage in 2021 - 01/08/21 01:33 PM

Interesting...Do you think scrap prices will go up bigdad? wave
Posted By: bigdad

Re: Next up : Steel shortage in 2021 - 01/08/21 01:53 PM

Originally Posted by tboomer
Interesting...Do you think scrap prices will go up bigdad? wave

The answer to that is no due to politics and tariffs , a certain amount of scrap steel needs to be used to offset the carbon footprint however but, not like previously ..
Posted By: GY3

Re: Next up : Steel shortage in 2021 - 01/08/21 01:55 PM

I work for an HVAC supplier and quite a few of the brands (fortunately not the one we sell) are having shortages due to Covid.

Lots of contractors can't get A/C condensers and furnaces from their other suppliers.

We haven't been able to get mobile home furnaces for about 3 months now and some heat exchangers are on intergalactic backorder.
Posted By: fastmark

Re: Next up : Steel shortage in 2021 - 01/08/21 01:57 PM

Tariffs will be gone on the 21 st of January China will be sleeping with the politicians again like a bunch of paid prostitutes. We’ll pay what China decides we need to pay. Back to the old ways.
Posted By: pittsburghracer

Re: Next up : Steel shortage in 2021 - 01/08/21 02:20 PM