Moparts

Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11

Posted By: FM3AAR

Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11 - 07/20/20 05:08 PM

Shame.

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/b...s-pandemic-weighs-on-business-2020-07-20
Posted By: Pacnorthcuda

Re: Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11 - 07/20/20 05:14 PM

That is a shame. Quality products. Lots of pressure from Chinese PREDATORS, and of course battery powered everything these days.
Posted By: CMcAllister

Re: Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11 - 07/20/20 05:18 PM

Originally Posted by Pacnorthcuda
That is a shame. Quality products. Lots of pressure from Chinese PREDATORS, and of course battery powered everything these days.

Death by a thousand cuts.

Some are pretty deep. Like 130,000+ people dead without firing a shot.

But, Horror Freight is doing great so who cares.
Posted By: fastmark

Re: Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11 - 07/20/20 07:23 PM

Briggs killed themselves many years ago. I was a professional landscaper from 1969-82 and I used up lots of Briggs motors. Honda came along and their products would last three or four times longer with zero problems for about the same cost. Briggs refused to change. Now there are lots of other brands besides Honda that are better than Briggs and they still have not brought up their quality. They just don’t last as long and they made them cheap. I won’t own another Briggs product the rest of my life. They’d still be in business if they made a piece that would compete with a Honda. I kept my last Snapper and put a Honda on it when I stopped mowing commercial. I’ve had it for 25 years. Starts first pull. I would have had three or four Briggs motors on it by now.
Posted By: jcc

Re: Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11 - 07/20/20 07:39 PM

its sad, but very true.
Posted By: markz528

Re: Briggs & Stratton files for Chapter 11 - 07/20/20 07:41 PM

Originally Posted by fastmark