Moparts

E body Rally dash tachometer

Posted By: 11secaarcuda

E body Rally dash tachometer - 02/13/11 06:38 PM

How can I know if my factory tach is accurate? How accurate are they usually?
Also, can the electronics be upgraded to work in conjunction with my MSD 6AL ignition? I have been using an Auto meter for the past 10 years, and I want to get back to a stock look, but make sure the factory tach is accurate.
Posted By: DANA60

Re: E body Rally dash tachometer - 02/13/11 07:22 PM

MSD makes a electronic unit that is a go between the stock wire and the MSD 6L plug. It works fine on my same set up in my 71 B. The unit is small, a coup

Attached picture 6473525-IMG_2775_1_1.JPG
Posted By: Deuces-Wild

Re: E body Rally dash tachometer - 02/13/11 07:22 PM

To Connect your stock OEM Mopar tach to your MSD ignition box, MSD has a tach adapter that plugs into the Ignition box. (Part no 8910 or 8920) It converts the MSD signal for your stock OEM mopar tach.

A second option, there was a posting from a Moparts member, Mr Heaterbox, who was making new replacement circuit boards for OEM mopar tachs to work with MSD style ignitions. Search on this posting number: 5790084. Seems interesting but not sure how well it works.
Posted By: DANA60

Re: E body Rally dash tachometer - 02/13/11 07:24 PM

sorry---couple inches square and easy to hide.

I'm not sure how accurate it is, it seems OK and maybe I should hook up a "real" tach to see. Keep in mind the original stock ones were probably off as well.
Posted By: Deuces-Wild

Re: E body Rally dash tachometer - 02/13/11 07:45 PM

Pic for scale....

Attached picture 6473571-P2130185-1.jpg
Posted By: screamindriver

Re: E body Rally dash tachometer - 02/13/11 08:58 PM