Moparts

Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers

Posted By: Kowal

Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers - 02/21/12 01:23 PM

I know this has been discussed before, but I haven't been able to find the thread.

On the front of the valve covers is the last couple digits of the part numbers (with auto or manual linkage) in white grease pencil on a Hemi, black on the rest.

What are the correct numbers for the front of a 68 Hemi with an automatic? Lynch Road car.
Posted By: Ply72rr

Re: Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers - 02/22/12 03:35 AM

I believe the you are asking about the engine code numbers. I think they are listed on the fender tag and/or build sheet. The MyMopar site list 447 as the code for 1968 HEMI automatic but I would suggest you do some more research to confirm, I'm a rookie at this stuff.

Re: Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers - 02/22/12 08:46 PM

Here is a pic I snapped of a recently restored Hemi in a 68 Dodge. An automatic.

I wasn't sure of this number, I have seen numbers on survivor Hemi's that were different.

Attached picture 7085089-68Hemi.jpg

Re: Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers - 02/22/12 08:52 PM

Here is a survivor pic of a Hemi in a 69 Dodge, this one a 4 speed car. Picture is from a thread on the Lift Off Hood forum which I hope they don't mind that I borrowed for this.

Attached picture 7085101-1404f99_20.jpg
Posted By: MMC Detroit

Re: Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers - 02/23/12 01:08 AM

Quote:

I believe the you are asking about the engine code numbers. I think they are listed on the fender tag and/or build sheet. The MyMopar site list 447 as the code for 1968 HEMI automatic but I would suggest you do some more research to confirm, I'm a rookie at this stuff.

Engine code from the broadcast sheet
Posted By: DaveRS23

Re: Hemi valve cover grease pencil numbers - 02/23/12 04:33 AM