Moparts

Header Gaskets

Posted By: RBSat66

Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 12:44 AM

I keep getting header leaks!!! Does anyone know what the best header gasket to use is?
Posted By: RapidRobert

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 01:18 AM

alot of people have reported (on here) that remflex is the best hands down.
Posted By: Neil

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 01:30 AM

A little Hi-Temp copper rtv applied to any gasket really helps them seal.

Copper rtv with copper gaskets is bulletproof, and reusable many times over.
Posted By: Chris2581

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 01:31 AM

I've been using the copper gaskets from SCE for many years with no problems.I've used them on 2 different engines,still work great.
Posted By: RBSat66

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 01:38 AM

That was the gasket I was thinking of and couldn't remember the name. Thanks for the information.
Posted By: DaytonaTurbo

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 01:38 AM

I found the crush type copper gaskets to work like crap. No way I can torq those header bolts down tight enough to crush the gasket to get a good seal.
Posted By: cornet684me

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 02:54 AM

this is a trick a buddy told me and i used it and for 2.5years no leaks, buy 2sets of the mr. gasket header gasket not copper, take black rtv and glue both sets together, let them set over night, then install the next day, snug them up on the first, do not over tight, then after you crank the engine and say drive to store and back, while the engine is still hot, go over and back sure all the bolts are snug, the you should be okay,
Posted By: therocks

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 11:56 AM

We use the Mr Gasket Ultra seals.Never any leaks.Ive even reused them.My kid finally had to replace one after 6 years and it was one that was reused.Rocky
Posted By: 1toolguy

Re: Header Gaskets - 01/24/10 01:04 PM